1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Error 102 (Cannot Connect To Internet With Any Browser)

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by Vigothebutch, Aug 23, 2012.

  1. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    This has me confused so I am going back to basics. When you are pinging are you connected wirelessly or are you hard wired?
     
  2. Vigothebutch

    Vigothebutch Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    California
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    wirelessly pinging.
     
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,675
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I've never seen the x's before. I'm at a loss.

    You need to be able to ping your router. The router is you first step to the Internet.

    I find it strange that you can connect wirelessly when booted in Safe Mode.

    Since You have connectivity in Safe Mode, there's a problem in you startup. You can go to msconfig and turn things OFF until you find the culprit. It could also be malware. Since you can boot in Safe Mode to get to the Internet, the malware specialist here can guide you through the step to detect malware.

    The mods here can give you advice on how to proceed.
     
  4. Plastic Nev

    Plastic Nev SUPER MODERATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Location:
    In front of a monitor in Blackburn Lanc's UK.
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi, along with Dragnet and everyone else I suspect there must be something active either in start up or otherwise that is not active in safe mode.

    You mentioned the system had an out of date Norton antivirus and you removed it. Norton is an extremely difficult program to fully get rid of so can you tell us what you used to remove it please. That may give us a clue as to what bits might still be left that can be causing this issue.

    I also have recently seen an instance where similar problems of no connectivity were due to the AVG antivirus and firewall being the cause, is there any sign of AVG being on the computer or evidence that it once was?

    Also any evidence of other antivirus or firewall software present?

    Nev.
     
  5. Wildman

    Wildman Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Overland Park Kansas
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    EL1360G-UW12P HDMI Emachine
    Memory:
    2GB DDR3 Memory
    Hard Drive:
    500GB
    Graphics Card:
    AMD RADRON HD6310
    If this be the case, an for that fact even if it isn't I would suggest that one obtain an install Revo uninstaller an use the strongest removal option that program has to offer. Even when one thinks they have uninstalled something a whole bunch of junk can still be left behind.

    Thanks
    Wildman
     
  6. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    The only real way ti be sure that you are fully uninstalling Norton is to use their own removal tool HERE . Make certain that you look at all the options in orange and select the radio button that matches your version of Norton. Revo is good but if the Norton uninstaller is not present or does not do the whole job it will not work all that well. The removal tool should work even if you did a partial uninstall in the past.
     
  7. Wildman

    Wildman Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Overland Park Kansas
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    EL1360G-UW12P HDMI Emachine
    Memory:
    2GB DDR3 Memory
    Hard Drive:
    500GB
    Graphics Card:
    AMD RADRON HD6310
    I agree with BeeCeeBee Norton an in fact any other virus protection program can be found to leave things behind that can be real fun trying to get rid of. With them it is always best to look for the authors removal an uninstall tool if they provide one. My suggestion for Revo is for all the other type programs and if the virus protection program only provides a basic uninstaller.

    Thnaks
    Wildman
     
  8. Vigothebutch

    Vigothebutch Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    California
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    i just used the run of the mill microsoft uninstall feature. there are still remnents of NAV on the computer without question. when i open something it still gives that anti virus alert asking if im sure i want to open it. just doing a search for nortan anti virus pops up with reinstall options and things of that nature.

    how do i go about completely getting rid of it?
     
  9. Wildman

    Wildman Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Overland Park Kansas
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    EL1360G-UW12P HDMI Emachine
    Memory:
    2GB DDR3 Memory
    Hard Drive:
    500GB
    Graphics Card:
    AMD RADRON HD6310
    See BeeCeeBee's post #46 above an use the uninstaller (removal tool) that applies to the version you had on the machine. Also make sure that there is only one virus program installed on your machine.

    Thanks
    Wildman
     
  10. Wildman

    Wildman Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Overland Park Kansas
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    EL1360G-UW12P HDMI Emachine
    Memory:
    2GB DDR3 Memory
    Hard Drive:
    500GB
    Graphics Card:
    AMD RADRON HD6310
    So did ya get your problem(s) solved?

    Thanks
    Wildman
     
  11. Vigothebutch

    Vigothebutch Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    22
    Location:
    California
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    PROBLEM SOLVED!! ran the full uninstall from the website in safe mode, did a restart and boom. internet works perfectly.

    thank you so much everyone, i was really getting to the point of doing a wipe and fresh install of windows as my sister desperatly needs this laptop back.

    Works perfectly. Thank you for all of your help!!
     
  12. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Glead ot hear you got this sorted! Don't be a stranger!
     

Share This Page