1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Upgrade XP to Windows 7...possible??

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by patszy, Oct 9, 2013.

  1. patszy

    patszy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Thank you all.
    I will probably need to do something SOON....April is almost here.
    I have had HP trying to figure out why my new computer is not as fast as my OLD one. As I suspected, it is probably the processor.
    Old Windows 7 Dell has a Intel Core2 Duo processor. New computer has AMD C2-200APU.
    I did not know enough to consider the processor when I got the new computer!!!
     
  2. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    I would take a good Core 2 Duo over a low level APU from AMD any day of the week!
     
  3. patszy

    patszy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    All the ones I have shown you from Staples are no longer available.

    What do you think of this one:
    This comes with Windows 7, is only $199.00.

    815c35484be3fbe6cd8296d25924017a.jpg
     
  4. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Patsy. Seems good value and comes with a years warranty.
    Do what you want it for.
     
  5. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
  6. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    The one Patsy asked about has double the ram and 2.8 GHz against 2.3GHz and half the ram compared to the one you linked to Rich.
    No wonder it's cheaper. For the little extra I would go with the Hp.
    PSU's can fail at any moment no matter what brand.
    They have a years warranty so I wouldn't be worried.
    I would have a HP in preference to a Dell any day, however I may be biased as my HP Laptop is 3 yrs old and haven't given an ounce of trouble.:)
     
  7. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    The ram is important good catch Dougie and actually so is the cpu. The problem with those psus is not that they are crap as all makers use crap, it's that they are proprietary and a minimum twice the price of a regular psu and that there are no better ones available but I agree sooner or later everything goes. Dell vs HP, its all in the experience. I used to rep HP notebooks until theV8000 model I believe it was when all the boards failed a week or two after warranty was up and HP said "sorry Charlie" so I said the same to them. The newer HP's have changed though, they have even worse motherboards but the good news is because they are worse they fail in warranty. Of course the next time they fail is out of warranty.
    This era we are looking at I would buy either. Today, no Dells or HP's, Lenovo is now # 1 and IMHO, they belong there if you buy brand name pcs, which I don't.
     
  8. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Getting back to the question Patsy asked, considering what it has for the money, and a years warranty I think it's good value for money.:)
     
  9. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Agreed but I just realized Patsy hasn't answered your question what she does with a pc and I'd like to hear that before being as definite as you are Dougie. For the average user yes this is fine but if she is a heavy Photoshop user or gamer then it might be another story.
     
  10. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It's for Patsy's husband I think is over 80yrs (if I remember correctly). Certainly not Photoshop.
    #14 explains what it is intended to be used for.
    I think it will do the job nicely.
     
  11. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Yes you jogged my memory by Jove and I believe you are right...so that unit would fill the bill fine as you say!
     
  12. patszy

    patszy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Well...thank you so much for the discussion!!
    It is a "done deal". I finally ordered it yesterday. His Dell is EIGHT years old and has NEVER given us any trouble...that is because we don't use it like most people use a computer! HOWEVER, lately when we reboot we get that blue screen which says there is a problem with the hard drive. Rebooting three times makes it work!!!! Now I have to figure out how to get the one I ordered to replace his....it is the one to which is connected the modem/router. Don't want to make any mistakes and mess up the network!!

    I have not had HP until lately, except printers, but I would like to report that I had VERY good luck with the calls I made concerning my HP All In One. I complained because it was not as fast as this old Dell Windows 7. Anyway I guess the processor is just not as FAST....bummer!
    The tech had a "higher up" ( as he said) call me, and he said there was nothing else to check on but he would give me an additional year of support....$79.00. I did not ask for anything, so thought that was worth reporting. Always good to report something GOOD for a change.

    Hey...hubby is almost 86 and I am almost 84...but I have a lot of fun trying to take care of all these THINGS!!!!!

    Thanks you all so very much for your help. I really appreciate it because I surely DON'T know much about these things.
     
  13. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,436
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    We're glad we were able to help, Patszy and if you have any questions about
    setting up the new computer to the modem/router don't hesitate to ask.

    Great deal on the additional one year warranty. :biggrin:

    Good Luck! :)
     
  14. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Good luck Patszy just plug ethernet cable from the router into new computer, there is nothing else to do it's a piece of cake and you will be fine and on the internet.
     
  15. patszy

    patszy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Thanks! That sounds great. I was afraid I needed to do something else and was afraid I would mess things up.
    So, the modem/router has all the information in IT and the other two computers on the network will be ok and the network name and password will just work automatically????
    Sounds toooo easy!
     
  16. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,436
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Yes, yes and yes. :biggrin:

    Just make sure you plug the Ethernet cable into the tower before you turn the computer on. :)

    Any questions or problems, we're here for you.
     
  17. patszy

    patszy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Thanks!
    All went fine.
     
  18. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,436
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    That's wonderful news Patszy.

    Thanks for letting us know.
     
  19. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Way to go thanks for comeback!
     
  20. Match

    Match Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    4,175
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, UK.
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Abit AN52
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon dual core 5000+
    Memory:
    4 Gig Corsair
    Hard Drive:
    160 Gb Hitachi 500 Gb Western Digital
    Graphics Card:
    Radion XFX 4650
    Power Supply:
    550W EZcool
    We're so glad we managed to advise you to buy a new computer and Operating System that suites your needs.

    If ever you need any more help with your computer you know where to find us :)
     

Share This Page