1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem with new HD installation

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Slowpoke47, Mar 1, 2019.

  1. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Event viewer shows 6,600 errors. What's next?
    Events viewer screenshot.jpg
     
  2. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Since my Mint installation and Vista removal, W7 now has 6,600 shutdown errors (!) With the Vista HD removed from the machine, the W7 drive will not boot. It turns out I do have the W7 installation disc, buried in a drawer, now in hand.

    If I reinstall the W7 OS without the Vista drive connected, maybe I'll get a fresh start with 7, including bootloader and proper shutdown sequence. But if I do that, what happens to the added programs and local files, i.e. data?
     
  3. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Well that is good news but it doesn't solve the long shut down problem most likely sorry.Well like I said I did notice windows 7 having that problem when I had it and with others also. Maybe some one with have some more ideas for you.
     
    Slowpoke47 likes this.
  4. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks. I have a parallel thread on Ask Woody and there are some good ideas there. Just learned that shutting down via the power button on the case is not harmful, contrary to my previous understanding.
     
  5. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,962
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    The VDS event in the Event Viewer can be ignored.
    It's a common error that occurs whenever you open disk management in Computer Management.
     
    Slowpoke47 likes this.
  6. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks. Having a "real-time" exchange on Ask Woody, the latest post asked a question about what happens when I try to shut down, so I tried shutting down... and it worked normally!

    https://www.askwoody.com/forums/topic/pc-will-not-shut-down/#post-337790
     
  7. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,962
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    That's great.
    You may have had a program still running that was preventing a shutdown.
     
  8. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    202
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Glad you got it sorted out I never did when I had my windows 7 I just upgraded to 10 and now upgraded to Linux.
     
    Slowpoke47 likes this.
  9. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Does it now work with out the Vista drive installed or do you still have the Vista drive installed?
     
    Slowpoke47 likes this.
  10. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Actually, I'm just along for the ride. The OS sorted itself out. As of right now there have been two consecutive normal shutdowns. I'm kind of holding my breath to see what happens next. I still plan to install the Mint HD in due time.
     
  11. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Current status is, as far as I can tell, back to before I started changing HD's, etc. Vista and W7 HD's both back in the computer, 7 seems to be working correctly as does Vista- of course, Vista is, at this point, just a facilitator to get 7 booted up, haven't used it in years.

    The two issues to be resolved are the boot repairs to W7 to allow it to cohabitate with Mint, and the delayed W7 shutdown, which may or may not reappear. This second item is likely not related to the other issues I've visited upon myself- the delayed shutdown involves "Task Host Window" which shows up as a line item in my shutdown but apparently as a pop-up in other cases. This seems to be a not uncommon problem that Microsoft is working on, see https://answers.microsoft.com/en-us...shutdown/71c88049-95b0-48a2-a5ab-7dbb37680730
     
  12. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    That is not what I asked this is what I have asked.

    It it will work with out and you have the time to then put the Linux drive in and we should be able to finish this up with a simple command to add Windows 7 to the Grub boot menu.
     
    Slowpoke47 likes this.
  13. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Sorry, lost sight of your question during my reply. Vista and W7 HD's in place. Haven't tried W7 without Vista installed, but now that W7 is working, I have some 2018 recaps to do for my accountant and I'm working on those first in case I screw up W7 access again. I know from experience that with the Mint and W7 HD's both installed, the system will not boot up 7, but as soon as I get my critical accounting work done, I can remove the Vista drive and try to boot with just the W7 drive installed. That will likely be tomorrow.
     
  14. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Not ready yet to test W7 by itself to see if it will start- but there is an issue of failing to shut down that I have to address first. The system sometimes gets hung up on the last screen, "shutting down" and other times takes a long time (½-1 hour+) but also sometimes shuts down ok. Program preventing shutdown cited as Task Host Window and this is a known-to-MS problem. A hotfix is available from MS and an update is to be available at some point. This should be the first issue to address, before the bootup problem.
     
  15. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,473
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    That is ok like I stated before no rush.

    You do have backups of your data correct on an external device.

    Your data, programs etc. would be lost and yes this could fix the other issues you are having. Just like when you originally did the install.
     
    Slowpoke47 likes this.
  16. Slowpoke47

    Slowpoke47 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Location:
    small town in RI
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Yes, I back up weekly to an external hard drive. If/when I do any repair-type changes, I'll back up immediately beforehand. And Mint was installed on 3/1, so I would look for a restore date just before that event, but since the Mint and W7 are on separate drives, 7 may not recognize that particular operation.

    Also am advised to do a system image before any changes, have Macrium Reflect installed, but my efforts at that failed. I seem to recall that MR needed an external medium of extremely large size, which I did not have on hand, so I aborted the attempt.
     

Share This Page