1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library Error

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Evol, Jan 7, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Starbuck,

    I tried to install the printer again, with the same results and error messages. I then disabled the 'Interactive Services Detection' service, restarted, and tried to install the printer one more time. The install ended up freezing around the same time I usually receive the error message. I had to leave so I left it alone for a couple of hours and it was still frozen and unresponsive when I got back. I had to close it out using 'task manager'.

    I haven't contacted HP about the problem for a couple of reasons. One, I saw others say that when they contacted them they were told (whether true or not) it was a problem on Microsoft's end and that they couldn't help. Two I feel like if I explained what happened they would say something like "Well the printer was working fine until you got malware and did a system restore. Clearly its something you did wrong and its unrelated to our software". But I guess I probably should contact them just to see if they can offer any assistance.

    Also, I read the info in this link you posted: http://blogs.msdn.com/b/patricka/ar...eshooting-interactive-services-detection.aspx
    I had never noticed the drop down box that said 'show program details'. I clicked it on this time when I received the error message and it said C:Windows\System32\spoolsv.exe was the culprit. I then created a custom view in the 'event viewer' like the article said. It gave me a list of every time the error has occured. The first occurrence was 12-19-2012 if that helps you in any way. I also looked at the details for every time the error has occured. They are all the same and they all say: "Device or Application: C:\Windows\System32\spoolsv.exe. Message title: Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library". Does this mean that 'spoolsv.exe' is whats causing the problem?


    As far as digging deeper with other programs, I'm all for anything that you think could possibly help. Thanks!
     
  2. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,371
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi Evol,

    Ok, maybe it's become corrupted.
    The nice guys at Microsoft have a Printing Troubleshooter which should help to fix this issue.

    Let's give it a try and see if it resolves things.

    http://windows.microsoft.com/en-US/...1&v2h=win7tab3&v3h=winvistatab1&v4h=winxptab1

    Under step2, click on the Printing Troubleshooter hyperlink to download the troubleshooter wizard.
    and fingers crossed.
     
  3. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Ok, I tried the troubleshooter. It told me the Print Spooler Service isn't running.
    I then received the 'Interactive Services Detection' error, which I closed out and continued with the troubleshooter.
    The troubleshooter then said "Isolating the printer drivers from the printing service might improve stability of the print spooler." I said ok try this fix
    The troubleshooter then said "The Add Printer Wizard can help you install a new printer" I clicked on the button to open the Wizard, which gave an error message that said "Windows cant open Add Printer. The local print spooler service is not running. Please restart the spooler or restart the machine."
    Not sure what to do next.
     
  4. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    One more thing. The troubleshooting report says that the Print Spooler service wasn't running but that it 'fixed' the issue and started the Print Spooler Service. This seems odd since I got the error message from Add Printer Wizard that said ""Windows cant open Add Printer. The local print spooler service is not running. Please restart the spooler or restart the machine."
     
  5. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,371
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    First thing to check then........

    Open the Services control panel by typing services.msc in the Start menu search box and then clicking on the Services icon.
    Scroll down to Print Spooler and double click on it.

    Make sure that it's set to Automatic and the Service status is...Started

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It is set to Automatic, but under Service status it says Stopped. Should I start it?
     
  7. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I changed it to Start, and tried to run the 'Add Printer Wizard' again. I immedieatly got the 'Interactive Services Detection' error, which in return stopped the the Print Spooler service. I tried this a few times, same result every time. Even when I go back in and manually start the Spooler service, then try to run the Printer Wizard, I will get the error message and the Spooler service will be automatically stopped.
     
  8. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,371
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    What is the service status of the 'Interactive Services Detection'.
    This is what mine is set to.

    [​IMG]
     
  9. Plastic Nev

    Plastic Nev SUPER MODERATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Location:
    In front of a monitor in Blackburn Lanc's UK.
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    If I can just butt in here, you bought the download version of Windows 7, did you store the downloaded file or did you delete it, or on unknown ground as I have no experience in the download of OS, did it self delete once installed?
    Just thinking that if the downloaded EXE file is still saved somewhere, just wondering if it would be possible to burn an ISO disk of it? Just a thought, but don't know if it is possible.

    Nev.
     
  10. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,371
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi Nev,
    Feel free to butt in.
    You have more experience of what you suggest than i have.
    If none of the ideas work, i still think that running the System File Checker might be worth a shot.
    It doesn't always ask for the disc to replace/repair files.
    If the OS was downloaded, there may well be a cache that the checker will use.
     
  11. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    1. The service status of the 'Interactive Services Detection' is set to Started. (I had turned it off a couple of times while troubleshooting this problem and found that the problem would still occur, but without the error message it would just cause programs to freeze, so I turned it back on)

    2. Nev, its been about 3 or 4 years now since I upgraded from the beta to the full version of win7. I really don't remember much about it. I guess its possible I still have an email buried deep somewhere with a link if I ever needed to do a reformat or something. Or its possible I still have an EXE file somewhere on my machine like you said. Any ideas what it would be called? If so I can try to do a search for it.

    3. Starbuck, running System File Checker sounds like a good idea too. If you can post some instructions I'll give it a shot

    Thanks guys!
     
  12. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) CHF Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Evol.
    Here is how to run SFC / SCANNOW in windows7.

    Open Command Prompt.

    Important: You must run Command Prompt as an administrator in Windows 7 to use System File Checker.


    Once Command Prompt is open, type the following command and then press Enter.
    sfc /scannow

    Note the space after sfc.
     
  13. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    DSTM,
    I ran the scan and its telling me it didn't find any "integrity violations".
     
  14. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) CHF Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I think the only way is to do an install unless somebody has a better solution.
    If you have a Windows7 Legit Key I would approach Microsoft and they would send you the OS I would think.
    These OS fit onto 5 CD's
    However if you wish to upgrade you would have to purchase I would think.
     
  15. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Do you think they have a record of when I purchased it and would send it to me? I think I had to use my student email to get a discount and I don't know if that account is even still active. I could try and see if I can find the email from a few years ago, if there even was one. I know I had to give them my student email to get the student discount, but I don't know if they actually emailed me anything or if I just downloaded straight from their website. Is there no way to delete the Print Spooler and download a new one?
     
  16. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Ok I just checked and that email address no longer exists. They have assigned me a new one for alumni.
     
  17. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) CHF Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  18. Evol

    Evol Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi DSTM,

    I've read about half the link you posted (http://social.technet.microsoft.com...f/thread/fd7f46d3-baa1-4a38-9ad3-dec5426d9297)
    I've tried the ideas, but so far none has worked.
    Someone suggested deleting all the files in 'c:\windows\system32\spool\printers' but that file is already empty for me.

    Someone else suggested also deleting the files in 'c:\windows\system32\spool\drivers' and said his problem was fixed, but only after deleting those files as well. I would like to try that but I wanted to check with you guys first to see if that is a good/safe idea. A lot of the files in the drivers folder are from 2009, which is probably from when I first installed win7. Perhaps I should try only deleting the files that say they were created/modified in December 2012 since that is when my problem started? There are only a few files that recent, the vast majority are from 2009 or 2010.

    I'm going to keep reading and see if there are any other good suggestions in that thread, but I wanted your opinions on deleting the files in 'c:\windows\system32\spool\drivers'. What do you guys think?
     
  19. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) CHF Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I would delete the 'c:\windows\system32\spool\drivers'.
    I'm thinking you have the wrong printer drivers installed and windows is stopping the service to prevent issues.
    if you installed and assigned wrong driver to any of the network or local printer, you may face this print spooler stopping frequently problem.
    I would uninstall the printer drivers and reinstall the correct drivers to the printer.
    Worth a try IMO.
     
  20. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) CHF Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Under Devices and Printers in the control panel does the correct printer have a green tick?
    Windows may be trying to communicate with the wrong printer.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page