1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Folders searching slowly.....green bar along the top...folders reading as empty

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Carbinax, Jun 14, 2015.

  1. Carbinax

    Carbinax Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    I have successfully run the chkdisk \ R command and it seems to have run ok, but the green bar is still there in folders
     
  2. Carbinax

    Carbinax Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    anyone ?
     
  3. Carbinax

    Carbinax Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    please help....I just double clicked "my computer" and it says "this folder is empty". It won't even display my drives properly =/
     
  4. Carbinax

    Carbinax Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    thanks...but i dont seem to be getting any help here. I should try somewhere else maybe. Thought this would be something that was easy to fix.
     
  5. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi try this.

     
  6. Carbinax

    Carbinax Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Tried it but it didnt work.
    sfc/scannow still finds corrupt files that it cannot fix , and when i enter gpedit.msc in the run box, windows can't find it.
     
  7. Carbinax

    Carbinax Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    sfc results attached
     

    Attached Files:

  8. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Last edited: Jun 22, 2015
  9. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Can we get a bit more info here as this could be a bad hard drive. Make and model of pc and desktop or laptop and if custom build how about make and model of hardware including hard drive. Did pc come with Windows 8 or did you install it on an older pc?
    If you go "run" and then devmgmt.msc and hit "enter" on keyboard you can click open hard drive to find mfgr make and model.
     
  10. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I think this is simply a case of corrupted Windows files. Short of a reinstall, I don't think there is much more you can do.
     
  11. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    You might be right Cindy but I think the reason for the corruption is expiring hard drive.
    If it were Vista yes that seldom survived a corruption and OS was impossible to recover but 7 is so much more resilient I think it took hardware to cause this.
     

Share This Page