1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] XP Laptop and Broadcom 802.11g Network Adaptor

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BGBG, May 25, 2017.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Have Gateway 7320 Laptop with Broadcom 802.11 Network Adapter. When I had Verizon internet installed they installed a Router with cable plug in and I used the laptop in that room. Tech had to leave before installed the wireless adapter setup and told me just plug into the router ( I guess it is called). I did so and it worked fine. But I then wanted it wireless so could use in another room like the Dell laptop he set up with internal adapter. I did not know how to configure it so I took it to PC shop who told me the internal adapter did not work, which I believed for did not know otherwise. In a hurry I bought a D-Link USB adaptor which configured itself and now that works and the Broadcom which I guess is for the router or modem or whatever always shows network adapter unplugged, ikely because it expects it to plugged in with ethernet cable in other room.
    No real problem with this but how can I be sure the internal Broadcom adapter really does not work and they maybe hoped to sell me a much more expensive that they carried. I do not really know what they did do or should have done but I have used them before and always satisfied and all worked satisfactorily.
    But I have always been curious why the internal Broadcom did not work and if I should try to configure it myself if I could learn how, and see if it really does not work. When I look at properties it says device is working properly for all 5 checked options in the items box under General tab.
    Under Wireless Networks tab there is nothing listed and a check is in box "Use Windows to configure my wireless network".

    I mainly am just confused about this and maybe the internal adapter is not designed for wireless networks or my particular one.
    Can someone clarify this for me and either assure me that the Broadcom is not supposed to work with my wireless network or if I could or should try to configure it to work if it IS supposed to. It always shows an icon or bars in the tray no matter if "show icon" or "Notify me" boxes are checked or unchecked.It is enabled.

    All now works but I am still confused about this and I wanted some other opinions if what I said and was told is correct, so I can either try something or feel pleased and can stop worrying over it. Thanks for any help or reassurance..
     
  2. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    BGBG, I have found that some routers have a habit of "remembering" how a computer was last connected. I had a router that did this. If the last computer was wired and I tried to add a wireless one, the router would not recognize the wireless one without rebooting.
     
  3. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,185
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I have a Windows phone that keeps doing this.
    I have Verizon now for internet and it keeps trying to connect to a Xfinity guest account.
     
  4. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    1. Is the wireless card still there?
    What are the chances that they removed it since they stated that it does not work.
    2. Is it still connects to the system correctly?
    They may have just disconnected the wires.
    3. Is it turned on?
    There may be a manual switch that needs to be moved in order to turn it on.
    Key combo to turn the WIFI card on off with most Dells I have worked on and own (3) it was the (Fn) key and F2.

    Will need to remove the USB one and disable it so the system will report the on-board one.

    They do that at the shops here a lot of times.

    NOTE: If you have not yet go to Dells site and download the proper drives for that WIFI card and install.

    If you what ever reason DO NOT GUESS ask.
     
  5. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Is there a place to download only the drivers and not a bunch of extra software? I am not interested in driver updaters or other software but ONLY the drivers. Never finished this for everywhere I seemed to go tacked on software, updaters, and other junk. just want to free downloaddrivrs for the Broadcom 802,11g
     
  6. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    In Windows XP click on Start
    Now right click on My Computer
    Now select Manage
    From the list on the left select Device Manager
    No look under Networking (May be Network Adapters)and see if it is listed there.

    With some BIOS you can disable WIFI so you may need to check there they may have disabled it there.

    Go to the Gateway web site
    If it ask select your Country
    Now hover over Support
    Select Drivers & Downloads
    Select the proper Operating System and if it is 32 bit or 64 bit.
    Download, unzip, and install the driver.

    Let us know if you need any help.
     
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Well I'll be darned if this didn't work. Or at least partially. Have forgotten how to do all this stuff but I did as you said. Went to site on other laptop, D/L drivers, copied to flash drive and then to XP. Unplugged D-Link and plugged directly into router with cable. Then installed the driver which it searched for and found. Forget now exactly how I did all the individual steps but NOW I am connected to wireless although I AM wired.
    It did not seem to work unless I plug directly into router with ethernet but before I did that nothing would allow me to connect ot anything. I did order another D-Link just to see if first was defective. Cheap at $7.99 free ship. But at least I CAN connect to internet when I could not before even if do have to plug into the router.
    I do not know why this is true or what to do about it, nor why the router cable did not work before I did the driver install. Only after. Maybe the Broadcom IS defective since not really wireless, and I do not know why or what to do, but I AM HAPPY I can connect. Just moved laptop into the router room desk and plugged in. Will keep trying it without ethernet and truly wireless but now I know I can plug into router and connect to internet.
    If you know anything else I might try I would be happy to give it a shot.
    When I first had laptop in the shop because Verizon did not have time to set it up, they told me the Broadcom did not work but I could plug into router which I did awhile. But now plugging in did not work until I installed the driver. Have no idea why. But am glad I have a way to connect at all. Thank you very much.
     
  8. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    This posting seems to be on two threads, one under XP which is concerns, and in Miscellaneous Hardware which originally concerned a D-Link DWA - 130 wireless adapter which used to work but now I think does not. As far as I am concerned whichever thread you wish to close and refer to the other is OK with me.
    So far I installed drivers for Broadcom built in wireless adapter and I can plug into the router with Ethernet and connect to internet but not if I do not plug in. I do not now if this is correct function or if something is still wrong. I would like it to be totally wireless but may not be able to. I have another same type D-Link on order and likely if it is new and I unplug the Ethernet cable I can try the new adapter to see if wireless is again possible.
    Originally I COULD connect to internet if plugged in, then I got D-Link and never tried, but now could NOT connect with Ethernet UNTIL installed drivers.
    I do not understand if the Broadcom was bad and I could connect with Ethernet then could not until drivers, but STILL cannot if unplug . Looks like Broadcom is NOT truly wireless??? Happy to be able to connect but do not understand why NOT wireless.
     
  9. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Device manager still says Driver is 4/9/2004 version 3.40.69.0. Does that mean it was the same driver reinstalled and no newer?
     
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Does the driver have any red or yellow marks? That's all that matters at this point.
     
  11. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Look fine to me - see attached : NETWORK ADAPTERS.jpg NETWORK ADAPTERS.jpg
     
  12. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Is there a image of a wireless symbol near the clock?
    Disconnect the wires and click the WIFI symbol if there is one there and select your WIFI connection and enter in the password.
    What happens?
     
  13. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I shall try this tomorrow.
     
  14. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I did what you said. Unplugged cable. It did not like network key (password). Left settings as is. Shows Network Cable Unplugged symbol with red X. Cannot connect to internet or OE so plugged back in. Now connects. Seem to need cable.
     
  15. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    What is the error message that it gave you if there was any? Couple things that you can do to see if the WIFI card on the system is working.

    1. Go into you modem or router which ever supplies the WIFI signal and disable the password temporally to see if it connects then. Let us know if it does or does not and enable the password again.

    OR

    2. We can run some commands that will refresh the network settings on that system.

    If you are not running the Windows Firewall you can skip the first two commands

    Open Command Prompt and type in the following commands and press enter after each one.

    netsh advfirewall reset
    netsh advfirewall set allprofiles state ON
    ipconfig /flushdns
    nbtstat -R
    nbtstat -RR
    netsh int reset all
    netsh int ip reset c:\resetlog.txt
    netsh winsock reset catalog

    After the last command has completed reboot the computer so the changes can take affect ad try the WIFI again.
     
  16. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Meant to attach this file before-sorry.
    Shows This Box.jpg Shows This Box.jpg
    But found I left the last letter off the password and retried but still same message. And when plug in ethernet it says network is disconnected. When unplug it says wireless network IS connected. But only way I can connect to internet is if I plug in the cable. Cannot understand why wireless adapter seems not to work but wired it DOES.
    Not familiar with command prompt. Used to know but forgot how.
    Maybe I should reboot anyway after I change anything.
     
  17. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Command Prompt

    Press the Windows key + R
    Type in CMD
    Press OK or press Enter on the keyboard.

    Could be that the system can read the WIFI card is there just that the WIFI card has crapped out or is not physically connected properly to the laptop.
     
  18. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am right back where I started when I got the WIreless Verizon install and installed the D-Link Adapter Sept 14,2015. Broadcom has never worked wireless but only when plugged into router. I am hoping that a new D-Link will work for me again for I sure do not know how to fix this if it is at all possible. The computer says all the devices are working properly. And the network password that the computer properties shows is 8 characters while the one the Verizon tech gave my and my other laptop shows is 18 characters.
     
  19. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    These did not work either. Still can connect if plugged in. My guess is Computer Shop did not know how to fix it either or they would have offered me a solution. Maybe the new D-Link will work again when it comes, like it did the first time. The attachment is the box I get when click the tray icon when plugged into router and connected to internet. I did succeed in doing the command prompt though.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Look on the Verizon router. The password can usually be found on a label. It would be associated with your SSID which is Fios-EC4EZ. The password is case-sensitive.
     
    Rustys likes this.

Share This Page