1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Would appreciate advice

Discussion in 'Specific Hardware Issues' started by Tony Loly, Dec 8, 2017.

  1. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    My HP Omni all in one PC is reaching the end of its useful life after over ten years of great service.
    I like the all in one concept & would really like an ultra HD screen so my options for a replacement I have narrowed down to either an imac 5k or another windows machine if I can find a 4k version.
    My dilemma is that the Apple machine that whilst it looks great & has positive reviews would be a major change for me as a not very savvy 70 year old. I have an ipad & an iphone with no problems but I assume a computer is a whole new world. However the thought of moving to Windows ten frightens me just as much. I have it on a laptop which I rarely use because I hate it compared to the windows 7 I am happy with.
    Would welcome any thoughts, comments or advice.
    Sorry if this is in the wrong section, wasn't sure.
     
  2. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    What programs are necessary for you to feel comfortable? That will determine if you need a Windows computer or will an iMac work.

    I'm also 70 and at this point in my life, the majority of computer time is spending browsing the internet or playing offline games. Windows 7 is the last version of Windows I'm running. To prepare, in 2014, I bought an android tablet to see if I could use that comfortably to surf. I could so my problem is solved.
     
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    It's a bit of a different animal. That said, it's pretty much the same for a casual user. For instance, once you're in a browser such as Safari, Chrome, or Firefox, you probably won't see much difference that when using a Windows machine. Same goes for word processing and many other programs.

    The big difference will be noticed by a tech trying to solve a problem. It's a different operating system. Things are in different places.

    How did you survive the switch to Windows 10? If you had problems with the different interface that Windows 10 presented, you may not take well to Mac OS.

    If you have programs for your Windows machines, they will not run on a Mac. You'll need the Mac version of those programs.

    All your data files will be OK. There will be no problem with photos.

    I see you're in the UK. I checked and there are Apple retail stores and Apple User Groups in the UK. Suggest you visit an Apple Store or any other retailer that sells Macs. Also hook up with an Apple User Group. http://appleusergroupresources.com/find-a-group/

    Also note that Macs are more costly to purchase and to repair.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  4. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks for the response. I mainly use my PC to browse the internet & for email, nothing complex. I download & play a lot of videos hence the interest in UHD.
    TonyD your reply suggests I can still use Chrome or firefox on a mac?
    My concerns are if the video players I have will work on Mac os or do they have their own player. I have loads of video on an external HD will it connect & work on Mac?
    As for windows 10 I just find it so complicated compared to 7, don't know my way around it so cannot solve simple issues. Just a thought but could I download & use windows 7 on a windows ten machine?
     
  5. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Probably not.
    1. You can download 7 if you really, really search but you have to have a windows serial number to do the install. You don't have one for that computer.
    2. Microsoft and Intel have made it extremely hard to install anything but Windows 10 on computers with new CPUs.
    Truthfully, it would take a lot of work and not be worth the time and trouble.

    Copy this link
    Code:
    http://www.albrightcs.com/Windows%2010%20For%20Dummies.pdf
    to download a pdf of Windows 10 for Dummies. Perhaps reading through that will help. I like the Dummies series because they aren't too technical. I want to use a computer not get into the coding behind everything I do.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  6. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    You can still get get new widows 7 laptops from Dell.
    The Latitude range.
    You can tell Dell what you want, and they will build for you.
    They make good quality Computers.
    This would save you a lot of head banging, and new learning curve.
    I am staying with Windows7, myself.:)

    http://pilot.search.dell.com/windows7
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  7. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Dougie for that link to Dell. This is an option I have considered. The possible problem is that I want a desktop not a laptop & preferably a big screen but also is there not talk of there no longer being any support for Windows 7?
     
  8. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Support ends 2020 for Windows7. I know people happily still using Windows 98, and XP, and support for them ended some years ago. Windows7 will run for years after support ends. Safe until Security programs abandon Windows7.
    I have regular clone backups on every Computer. Everyone should.
    I still have one Computer with XP SP3 on. Runs fine.
    Plenty of monitors available to suit you. You can still buy New Windows 7 Desktops, to your requirements.
    Microsoft wants to herd everyone into one sheep yard, with Windows10.
    Had Windows10. Disliked it immensely. Couldn't wipe the Drive quick enough.
     
  9. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Dougie.
    This is the detail on one machine I have found............

    "Lenovo ThinkCentre X1 10JX - All-in-one - with Orchid Tilt Stand - 1 x Core i7 6600U / 2.6 GHz - RAM 8 GB - SSD 240 GB - TCG Opal Encryption 2 - HD Graphics 520 - GigE - WLAN: 802.11a/b/g/n/ac, Bluetooth 4.1 - Win 7 Pro 64-bit (includes Win 10 Pro 64-bit Licence) - monitor: LED 23.8" 1920 x 1080 (Full HD) - TopSeller "

    Do you think that means it has Windows 7 but an option for Windows 10 as well ?
     
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,651
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Without a link to the computer I rely on your description.
    That indicated that YES - it has Windows 7. If you want to install Windows 10, they include the appropriate license. You just have to provide your own installation media. You can get installation images from https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10
     
  11. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    That's the way I am reading it as well, Tony D.

    I had a look at the benchmarks for this PC, Tony Loly.
    The processor is good, with a benchmark of 4818.
    To me all looks good.
    I like this PC.
    Not sure about the Intel HD-520 Graphics. Benchmark 832.
    The HD-520 may be enough for your needs. Need to research more.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  12. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Tony.
    After spending time looking at the extended specs, and reading many reviews, I think you would be disappointed with the graphics as I suspected. Good office machine, but I would look further, rather than rush into buying something that hasn't got great graphics, which you are looking for.Will look further, as time permits, what's on offer.:)

    Part of a review, I read.
    "
    That stand, thin though it is, wobbles dramatically if you so much as nudge the screen, and Lenovo misses a trick by not specifying a touchscreen. Although its smooth and flush anti-glare screen looks as if you should be able to prod and poke it, the only result you’ll get if you touch it is a mess of greasy fingerprint marks.

    The Full HD resolution simply isn’t sufficient to compete with the market leaders. Stretched across 23.8in, the X1’s IPS panel is able to deliver a pixel density of only 93ppi, which means the pixel structure is plainly visible from normal working distances. Even the older non-Retina iMac has a sharper display.

    Its colour performance isn’t exactly sparkling, either. Although sRGB coverage of 95.1% ensures it doesn’t look flat, colour accuracy is far from convincing, with an average Delta E (the colour accuracy rating) of 3.07, and a maximum deviation of 6.02. The screen’s colour temperature is way off base, too, at 8,188K."
     
    Tony D likes this.
  13. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks for doing all that research on my behalf Dougie. I am in no rush so will have a good look around. At least I now have more confidence in opting for another windows 7 machine although I am tempted by the Apple 27" 5k retina model even though its expensive.................could I learn to use ios though, tough one?
     
  14. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Personally, I think it would be over kill to buy a Mac just to watch videos in high quality.
    I am sure if we keep looking, we will find something eventually that you would be happy with.
    I build all my own computers, so never been interested in buying a Mac.
    I have read that Apple exert too much control in what you can do and can't do.
    That everything has to be approved by them first.
    Tony D is our Mac Guy. He knows more than I do, about Mac's.
     
  15. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Dougie, I suspect you are right about the Mac.
    Maybe I should consider going to a specialist pc builder ( are there such people ) & ask for a good Windows 7 machine together with a 4K monitor, gets me what I want with the exception of it not being an all-in-one?
     
  16. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Dell Computers in the UK will build one for you, Tony.
    Contact them. Tell them what you want, and they will give you a price.
    In the build you need a processor with benchmark of around 6000 and a Graphics card with a benchmark of around 6ooo. 4k Monitor . SSD 250 GIG Hard drive, and 1 terra mechanical for storage.
    8 GIG DDR 4 Ram. 2400 speed. Windows7 Pro x64 bit.
    If you end up with a Desktop, you would be wise to get a 600 watt 80+ certified Power supply.
     
    Tony D likes this.
  17. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Dougie, that is so helpful, I now know just what to ask for. All very clear apart from the very last line ................

    "If you end up with a Desktop, you would be wise to get a 600 watt 80+ certified Power supply."

    You have lost me a bit there, more detail please?
     
  18. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Every Desktop PC requires a Power supply, and I recommended one strong enough, with guaranteed wattage out put.This is included in the build.
    This is what a Desktop Power Supply looks like, without the cables.
    main600.jpg
     
  19. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Sorry to appear dumb but how do I know what strength my power supply is & I don't know what guaranteed wattage output is?
    My TV, PC & other electricals seem to function ok off our existing supply.
     
  20. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It's not for your TV or other Electricals at all.
    It is a Power Supply inside your new build to supply correct Volts and wattage to power the new computer, and all peripherals.
    Nearly 2am here, Tony. Sleep time.
    PSU.png
     
    Tony D likes this.

Share This Page