1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Wireless Router

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Hardware' started by biferi, Sep 5, 2020.

  1. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    433
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have a Canon Printer that I use with my Wireless Router.

    It works good but every now and then my Printer Says it is OffLine.
    And I have to UnPlug it and Plug it in again.
    Or I have to go through the WiFi Settings on the Printer again.

    My Wireless Router is right next to the Printer about 7. Inches next to it.

    Canon Tells me my Printer may be in a Dead Spot.
    I Tell them that Wireless Routers Send the Signal out it a Babble so my Printer should be with in the Babble because the Printer is 7. Inches next to the Wireless Router.

    They Tell me as the Signal Leaves the Wireless Router there is a 1. Foot Dead Spot next to the Wireless Router.

    I never ever Read this or had anybody Tell me this.
    Is this True I would like to know before I go moving my Wireless Router and all the Cables?

    Thanks.
     
  2. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,647
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Is the printer set with a static IP address?

    What I had to do with mine was manually put in a Static IP address and use one that the other devices would not use.

    Bubble no more like a umbrella is how radio signals work when leaving the antenna. One with a slight slant not one that is a cone shape.

    Router or printer.
    What happens when you turn the printer off then on?

    Which is another reason I did the Static IP in the printer some times when I turned off the printer or had to reset the modem. It changes the IP address to a different one. Then none of the devices could print to it unless I deleted the printer than re added it.

    what are you moving the printer or the router?
     
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I've with Rustys on the static IP. Also, if it's right next to the router, connect the printer to the router with an Ethernet cable. You'll still be able to print to it from your wireless devices.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  4. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    433
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have a ComCast Router 6. Inches to the Right on my Printer on the same Self.

    The Person at Canon Told me to move the Router 1. Foot Away from the Printer.
    The Person Told me the Router is to Close and puts the Printer in a Dead Stop.
    But this did not sound Right to me this is why I Ask?
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Doesn't sound right to me either. I guess technically, it's feasible. I have a background in wireless transmitters, receivers, and antennas. I won't go into the technicalities, but it is feasible. I've just never seen it in a home setup.

    Like I said earlier, your printer is right next to the router. Connect the two via an Ethernet cable and stop worrying about it.
     
  6. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    433
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    My Printer only has a USB Port not and Ethernet Port.
    And I did have it going to my Computer with a USB Cable but I thought I would use the WiFi.

    I know I can go back to the USB Cable but I wanted to know why my Printer goes Off Line every now and then.
    I do not think my ComCast Router is giving me a new IP Address for my WiFi.

    Because my Tablet stays Online and I can Print to my Printer from my Tablet and it is going through my Router.

    So it has something to do with Win10 and my Router maybe?
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hard to tell which is the cause. What's the make/model of the printer?
     
  8. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    433
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have a Pixma TS6220 Canon Printer.
     
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I downloaded the manual for your printer. If you have the IJ Network Utility on your computer, fire it up. Look for the IP address of your printer. The default setting is to have the router assign an IP address to the printer. I like to change that (as Rustys also prefers), but it can be a pain if you're not used to making the change. Anyway, see if you can determine the IP address. It'll probably be in the form of xxx.xxx.x.xxx. If you're on Comcast, it may be something like 10.0.1.x; if you're on Verizon, it may be something like 192.168.1.x.

    Once you have the IP address determined, you can send a signal to the printer to see if it's accessible on the network. To do that, bring up a command prompt by holding the Windows key and typing R. In the Open dialog box, type cmd and press the Enter key.
    You'll get a black window with white lettering. At the >. type ping followed by a space and then the IP address of your printer. So it may look like
    C:\Users\<your user name> ping 192.168.1.1
    That sends a signal to the printer. It should respond with a reply from your printer with a time. That's good. If you get a Request timed out, that means your printer is not responding,
     
  10. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    433
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thank you for all the help.
    I started to have some Problems with Printing Large Fonts.

    They are now coming out Blotchy so they Told me to exchange the Printer to a new one.
    So I am waiting for it to come.

    I am now thinking the whole Printer was a Dud.
    Please let me see if the ne Printer will keep the WiFi Connection then I will get back to you.

    Thanks.
     
  11. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Thanks for the update. Let's hope the replacement works better.
     

Share This Page