1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

wireless network adaptor

Discussion in 'Specific Hardware Issues' started by nottonto, May 31, 2020.

  1. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi everyone
    could someone please help me with my laptop connection to the internet?
    I cannot connect using wireless, only if I'm connected using wired connection to my router.
    my network adaptor is a Qualcomm Atheros QCA9377 wireless network adapter
    I have tried resetting the adapter and I have uninstalled it to allow windows to find it and reinstall it I still cannot connect to the internet.
    I don't actually know if the network adapter is a hardware thing or software for windows.
    If it's hardware, can it be replaced ?
    If it's software then are there any actions I can take to repair/renew it ?
    My laptop is a Lenovo V330-14ARR, just over a year old.
    any help would be greatly appreciated

    thanks nottonto
     
  2. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    727
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I found this possible solution for the V330-14RR model.
    Source: https://forums.lenovo.com/t5/Lenovo...-adapter-after-BIOS-update/m-p/4317433?page=1

    I'm not sure if your laptop has a physical switch. This gives details of turning wifi on with a physical switch
    https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/fi/en/...n wireless WiFi on/off Windows 7, 8, 8.1 & 10

    Wireless driver
    https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/fi/en/...-list/component?name=Networking: Wireless LAN
    Bluetooth driver
    https://pcsupport.lenovo.com/fi/en/...river-list/component?name=Bluetooth and Modem
     
    nottonto and Seth Anthony like this.
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Do you at least see the wireless networks showing up on your computer? It you do, the hardware is mostly likely good.

    Yes, the wireless network adapter is hardware. With most hardware, it needs software to connect it to Windows. That software is called a Driver.

    The hardware is replaceable. This one looks like it will do.
    https://www.amazon.com/CHEN-LI-SHENG-Wireless-Bluetooth/dp/B07H7QTQ5W

    Those wireless adapters do fail, but it's rare. They are usually accessible via a trap. However, in your case, it looks like it might be fairly difficult to get to that network adapter. You may want to consider a USB wireless network adapter such as this one.

    https://www.amazon.com/TP-Link-wire...KCM8A2WMZ8B&psc=1&refRID=2GAY5J2H5KCM8A2WMZ8B
     
    nottonto likes this.
  4. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Tony D
    thanks for your input, in answer to your question; yes I do see the wireless network on my laptop, when I try to connect by wireless I get what I think is a strange message, which is , "can't connect to this network" implying that it is "this network" that is at fault, I'm not able to try to connect to any other networks presently, note; I have just changed ISP one day before I got this problem, I know problems occur at any time but it seems strange given the message that I can't connect to "this" network, I was wondering if there could be anything left over from my previous ISP that could cause my problem, my old laptop, TV and mobile phone all connect normally though. There is only one removeable cover on the bottom of my laptop, probably battery? so the USB dongle you mentioned might be my best option, only after I've exhausted all other options. I have just (yesterday) installed a BIOS update from Lenovo ( 3ecn42ww.exe ) but this hasn't helped, does it seem like I might have a software problem? if it is software do you mean Windows 10, if it is then I might be able to get Microsoft help?
    thanks a million for your help nottonto
     
  5. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
  6. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi plodr, thanks for your suggestions.
    I will look at all your suggestions except the first one about BIOS update because my latest BIOS update was 42.
    thanks again, I'll let you know what happens nottonto
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Sounds like you simply have the wrong password for the network.
     
  8. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi again Tony D
    I've just used the Lenovo website to scan all my hardware and everything seems to be working as it should be.
    I'm sure I have the correct password as I've used it for other devices that are working normally, when I first entered the password for my new ISP it all worked ok, I only used my laptop for about 1 hr then turned it off, ever since that time I've not been able to connect using wireless, I'm positive that the password is correct, it's factory typed onto a plastic label, no capital letters to worry about, just lowercase and numbers
    its a mistery..........nottonto
     
  9. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Tony D, sorry to keep pestering you.
    a bit more info., I just tried getting online using the WPS button on the router to fill the password, this didn't work and I got this message "windows can't get settings automatically" does this make any sense ?

    nottonto
     
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Remove the password on your wireless network temporarily and try to connect.
     
  11. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,380
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
  12. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Seth
    I'm using Bitdefender Internet Security, there was a Bitdefender window open up to ask if this was my home network (as I've just joined a new ISP) I just clicked yes which seemed the correct response.
     
  13. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I have deleted my previous ISP network.
    cheers nottonto
     
  14. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I will be visiting my daughter on Friday so I will take my laptop to see if I can connect at here house, and I have ordered a USB wireless dongle thingy to see how that works if I/we don't solve this situation

    thankyou everyone nottonto
     
  15. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hello again, I have received my WiFi dongle and plugged it into my USB but nothing seems to have changed, do I need to alter any settings on my laptop? my WiFi network from my ISP is still showing in my list of available connections and says that it is connected.

    nottonto
     
  16. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,282
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Well, six posts ago I suggested that you remove the wireless network password on your router. That was because as I mentioned 3 posts before that I thought you had the wrong network password. So again, I suggest you get the correct password for the network. If that doesn't work, temporarily remove the password on your network.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  17. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,380
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Going on what Tony said about the password, type your password in the search box or notepad to make sure the keys you press are producing the correct numbers and letters.

    If that doesn't help, then reset the router by leaving it plugged and holding in the tiny reset button on the back for one minute. You'll know you're doing it right if the lights begin to flash. After 1 minute, release the button and wait another minute before trying to connect.

    Other than that, see if you can connect via Safe Mode With Networking.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  18. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Do you know if you are connecting using a WEP or WPA2?

    If it is WEP then change it to WPA2 and change the password to something simple.

    There could also be a configuration in the TCP/IP that needs to be removed that is causing issues

    Have you tried removing the password form the Modem and seeing if you can connect then and browse?

    How and what step Windows or Commands?
     
  19. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    42
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Tony D
    Sorry, I'm not purposely trying to ignore you but I'm by no means a computer geek and I don't know how to remove/change my router password, I'm verrrry grateful for all your advice.
    I'll contact my ISP support tomorrow to get them to walk me through removing my password
    nottonto
     
  20. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,380
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Please see my previous post.
     

Share This Page