1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Wiping hard drive

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Mokles, Feb 18, 2020.

  1. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi All, having recently replaced my old pc,I now want to wipe the hard drive before disposing of it. I thought it was going to be simple but things are now getting complicated so can anyone advise as to the simplest method. I've already reset the factory settings but obviously that's not rid of all my data.
    Thanks.
     
  2. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    What were the steps that you preformed to do this?

    You should have a recovery partition (if this is a prefabricated system) that you can access and that will put the computer back to a factory stated.

    What is the systems make and model.
     
  3. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I tapped F8 when I switched it on and chose the option to reinstall Windows.

    It's an ADVENT SE1101
     
  4. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Are you looking at reselling or recycling the system?

    Here is a program that I have used for years that will completely wipe a Drive clean
    https://dban.org/
     
  5. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Probably recycling if it's any use to anybody. It's over 10 years old but I've managed to keep it limping along.
     
  6. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I looked at Dban yesterday but I kept getting taken to the business download, so I tried KillDisk, which I ran but it said there were some errors (sorry don't have the details) so I'm not sure whether it's done the job or not.
    As I write this post I've finally got the correct version downloaded, so I'll see if I have any luck with it. :cool-21:
     
  7. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    20200219_201149.jpg
    This is the screen at the end of running Dban.
    From the instructions I was following, it should have said that Dban succeeded.

    Just prior to this screen the screen showed a list of 10 'errors,' which I was about to snap when it disappeared.
    Do you think the disk is cleaned?
     
  8. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    727
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    You could store the log files and that would give you the errors. It did say finished with no fatal errors so I think you are OK.
     
  9. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I already pressed 0 to continue.

    Is there any way of knowing if the hard drive is wiped?
     
  10. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    727
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Try booting it up if it comes up no operating system found it is wiped.
     
  11. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I've switched it on and Windows has started up
     
  12. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,444
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    If I'm reading this correctly, you're trying to wipe a drive that is currently running the computer? If so, you can't wipe a "live" drive. You would either have to use a bootable drive wiper, the wiper would request a restart (with major warnings), or connect the drive as a secondary drive (so the disk isn't live).

    Just smash the drive with a hammer a few times and you're good to go.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2020
  13. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    :biggrin:
    Well how was I supposed to know that?!
    When I searched how to do it there was no mention of not being able to do it 'as is'.
    I'm sure hubby will be happy to oblige.:bnghd:
     
  14. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,675
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    The drive is over 10 years old. It's probably 500 GB or less. Not worth much. I'm with Seth on this. Destroy the drive.
     
  15. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    727
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Sorry I thought you were using a bootable program to wipe it just do what Seth said. That is a great way to take out your frustrations in computer land.
     
  16. Mokles

    Mokles Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2018
    Messages:
    47
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks for your help.
     
  17. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,444
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    You're welcome ;)
     

Share This Page