1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Windows help (again)

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Ep1lepsy, Feb 9, 2014.

  1. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    Right. I was pissed off when I couldn't change my user account in C:/ to my local accounts name. I then took it too far and decided to copy and delete everything in my folder and copy the contents to another folder made in the same directory. Thing is, it didn't work. Never mind that, Windows says that the OS isn't activated and NOW I CANT DO ANY THING!

    REPLY PLEASE!
     
  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Where are you seeing the message that Windows is not activated?
     
  3. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    Well it tells me the OS and the build in the bottom-right corner and I cant modify the metro settings. Do i need some sort of program to show me the key?
     
  4. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Is your computer a notebook or a desktop?
     
  5. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    A desktop PC
     
  6. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    If your desktop was purchased with Windows 8 pre-installed your product key should be located somewhere
    on the tower. Check the top and the sides of the case. Look for a small Microsoft product key sticker.
     
  7. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    Nope, not there. Should I try one of those programs where they reveal the key from the BIOS?
     
  8. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
  9. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    thanks. Ill try it out as soon i get internet back
     
  10. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Did your computer come with a legal copy of Windows 8 pre-installed?
     
  11. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    Yes, I did buy it legally from Argos, check it up.
     
  12. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    If you cannot find the MS product key sticker on the outside of your tower it
    could be located on the inside. Check the side tower door on the inner panel.
     
  13. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    sorry where exactly? Could you give me more details?
     
  14. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    What is the make and model number of your desktop?

    Why doesn't your desktop have internet?
     
  15. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
  16. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,459
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
  17. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
  18. Ep1lepsy

    Ep1lepsy Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2014
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    On my ASUS
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS
    CPU:
    AMD A8-5600K
    Memory:
    8GB
    Hard Drive:
    2TB Toshiba
    Graphics Card:
    AMD Radeon HD 7560D
    Power Supply:
    Don't Know
    Oh wait never mind. It's what Windows does when it doesn't have any internet and needs to verify itself :p
     

Share This Page