1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Windows compatibility checker

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Tony D, Jul 11, 2019.

  1. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,103
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I thought there was an app from Microsoft that you could run on a W7 or W8 computer which would tell you if the computer, software, and apps were compatible with W10.

    I've not found that app today. Was/Is it part of the W10 installer or is it a separate app?
     
  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,972
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    You can find the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor and the Windows 8 Upgrade Assistant HERE
     
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,103
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
  4. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,972
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    No, you don't want to do that.
    Uncheck all of the boxes and select No Thanks...…..
    Click Save on the download and run the upgrade advisor from the .exe download.


    installer.png
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,103
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Cindy, maybe I'm thick today, but I"m not seeing what you're seeing.

    Under section 2 of the link that you sent, I clicked on the Windows 10 upgrade checker (GWX). It downloaded the exe.
    When I open the exe, it doesn't run an application. Instead it sends me to https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/software-download/windows10
    All I see there are ways to download Windows 10.

    So I'm missing something.
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    822
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    On the link it sends you to Tony, click on update now. It will then check system compatibility and you can cancel or proceed with the update.
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,103
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Thanks Seth. If you don't mind, can you send a screen shot of the Update now button. I'm not seeing it.
     
  8. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    822
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,103
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Thank you for posting that.

    Indeed I don't see it. This machine is my W7. I had installed W10 some time ago. At that time W10 wasn't compatible with my printer. So I reverted within the specified number of days back to W7 Here's what I see.

    upload_2019-7-11_22-18-29.png
     
  10. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    217
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    That may be the reason you are seeing that because you did the upgrade but reverted back to Windows 7 in the specified time.When you update to 10 they digitally sign the product key to that machine.There must be something in there that tells Micro$oft that you had 10 in there before and went back to your previous operating system.This is just a guess on my part but you know how M$ works.
     

Share This Page