1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Windows 7 computer build

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Brandon White, Jan 10, 2020.

  1. Brandon White

    Brandon White

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi, I rebuilt my computer, new case, motherboard,RAM and processor. I used an existing 1TB hard drive from my old computer because it already had windows 7 on it etc. It loads into windows and brings up the bios asking to start windows normally or to do a startup repair. I chose startup repair and when it asks me to confirm the system restore, all inputs from my keyboard and mouse are ignored. I’ve tried the keyboard and mouse on other systems and they work?! Send help ASAP
     
  2. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,126
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Hi Brandon.

    It's not the bios that gives that message, it's Windows 7.

    Are you using a wired or wireless mouse and keyboard?

    Did you use the arrow keys to choose Start Normally, or did you just wait for the system to start normally? If the former, did you try safe mode?

    You might have a usb driver issue due to the new motherboard, and W7 may need some coaxing to fully start and install the drivers. However, you may have to resort to a clean install of Windows 7 given the major hardware changes.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and Tony D like this.
  3. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,126
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Also, System Restore probably won't help, as that's not the problem. In fact it could very likely make the situation worse.

    Your main goal is to get to get W7 to start fully, so the sequence you want to use in this order are: Startup repair, Safe Mode, Normal Mode.
     
    Tony D and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.
  4. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,556
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    To follow on from what Seth has already said......
    What sort of license was the original Win7?
    If an OEM license, this will be linked to the original hardware .... so the hardware change will have invalidated the original license.
    If a Retail license, this could be reinstalled on the system provided it is removed from the old system before installing on a new system.
     
  5. Brandon White

    Brandon White

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks for the response,

    I believe I bought an OEM licensed version so I gues that’s the issue. Even though it loads into windows but when I try to log in and type a password it’s almost as if my keyboard is not plugged in? I’m fairly new to this computer business! So I guess but new OS and install on new drive?
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,126
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    So it seems you have now gotten to the log in screen.

    You can't type in a password because the usb drivers aren't loaded for the new motherboard. Once you are able to enter the password, the usb drivers will loaded and saved.

    If you are using a wireless keyboard, then try a wired usb keyboard. If you already are using a wired usb keyboard, then a ps2 keyboard will temporarily work until the usb drivers are loaded and saved. Although, your computer may not have ps2 ports. If they do, you can usually find ps2 keyboards at thrift stores. The ps2 connector looks like this:

    [​IMG]
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and Tony D like this.

Share This Page