1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Windows 10 updated

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by IJAC, Sep 8, 2020.

  1. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    I have a HP desktop with a AMD Phenom quad core processor and I installed Windows 10 2004 feature update.
    Well just throwing caution if any one has this setup don't install it yet. My screen went crazy couldn't click on anything it would just jump around. I never saw anything like it. It also has a NVIDIA onboard graphics chip.
    I also have a DV7 HP laptop that won't install KB4565351 update and KB4576484 keeps failing. I really don't care if the laptop or the desktop update just putting out this information in case some one has a similar problem with a AMD machine. If this keeps happening then I will have two more Linux machines.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Well, I know what the issue is you're experiencing. Your Windows 10 machine knows there's a Linux machine nearby that you prefer to use and it's having a hissy fit about it.

    All kidding aside, thanks for the heads-up.
     
  3. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Ha good one could be true. Glad to help spread the word. At least when my Linux machine updates it doesn't crash or restart unless there is a kernel update.
     
  4. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Well miracles do happen last night I got brave and downloaded the media creation tool on the HP DV7. I updated it to version 2004 and all went well. I figured it would wreck it or fix it. It seems to be working better or it could be my imagination too. This has the
    AMD Turion™ 64 X2 Mobile Technology Dual-Core Processor M260. Just some info in case someone out there has one, although you never know with M$ updates someone else could have a problem.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,760
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Sounds like MS fixed whatever problem you had in the background without telling users there was a problem in the first place.
     
  6. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Yeah could be also I was thinking the other HP desktop has NVIDIA graphics so that may be a problem on that one. That will be my next project when I get really bored. I will post when I figure it out in case any one else has that type of problem.
     
  7. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    464
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Well a update on the HP desktop I downloaded a driver for the onboard NVIDIA graphics and bit the bullet to update windows. Well I downloaded the media creation tool and updated that way. It all went well almost. I wound up with the same problem but I discovered that if I turned off the transparency all is working normal. Crazy stuff well I don't need that fancy stuff any way on that one. It is running the latest version 2004 Windows 10 home. I guess I can put the sledge hammer away now it is working.
     

Share This Page