1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

windows 10 on a 32GB HDD ?

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by nottonto, Mar 5, 2018.

  1. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi everyone/anyone
    I have mistakenly purchased a laptop with a 32 GB SSD using Windows 10 :(
    I now find that it is so slow that it's practically unuseable
    I have just read the instructions about reinstalling windows without "bloatware" which I'm going to try later.
    My question is; is there another operating system that I could install that isn't as big as Windows 10 ?

    any advice would be gratefully received
    thanks nottonto
     
  2. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Do you know if the system originally came with Windows Ten if not what it did come with?

    Also you could get a larger HDD and put that in and do a fresh install of Ten.
     
  3. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    I've done a few of those with the issue. the most recent was an older Windows Surface with a 32GB SSD running W8 RT.

    The user had no personal files, as everything was stored in the cloud. All of the space was being taken up by W8 itself. I ended up clean installing W8, and that left about 15 GB of free space.
     
  4. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Oh ya, what's the make and model of the laptop?
     
  5. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Seth
    thanks for your input
    the laptop is a Dell Inspiron 11-3162, 1.6 Ghz, 2 Gb ram, Celeron.
    It was originally W7 but had been updated to W10 before I purchased it, it had the first version of W10, I've since updated it to the current W10 version by downloading W10 to a USB before doing a clean install.
    The HDD is a SSID, I think it's called.
    There isn't anything on the laptop, only Kaspersky and W10.
    thanks for your interest Nottonto
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    You're welcome.

    All you need to do is get the latest version of Windows 10 from here:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10

    Click on "Download Tool Now" and use a USB memory stick with at least 8GB of space.

    When you go to install W10, choose Advanced Options, then delete all the partitions it shows, and create 1 new one. Windows will then create 1 or more small partitions, but just select your newly created partiton to install W10 on. Following the installation, you should have about 15GB of free hard drive space.
     
  7. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10

    Thanks Seth, I'll give that a try and let you know, cheers nottonto
     
  8. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi again
    I've just had a very frustrating day trying to sort my Dell
    I downloaded W 10 onto a USB and tried to install it but my Dud/Dell laptop would not recognise the USB so I could not get anywhere.
    Is there anything I can do ?
    thanks nottonto
     
  9. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    As soon as you press the power button, start tapping away at F12. That should give you the boot menu.
     
  10. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,220
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Something else you may try to do is set the USB drive to the proper boot order with in the BIOS.
     
  11. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Seth
    I'm a bit confused about the BIOS thingy, when I go into it it doesn't look the same as I've seen in the past, on my one visit to the BIOS a few years ago on a different PC.
    there's the following
    boot mode is set to. UEFI; secure boot: on
    do you want to change legacy boot mode without boot support?
    there will be a legacy option ROM support.
    system will be automatically re-booted

    which do I select ?
    sorry to be a pain Ronnie
     
  12. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    It's no problem. That's what we're here for.

    If you can't boot to USB with the F12 method, then go back into the BIOS and disable Secure Boot, and EUFI boot. Enable Legacy boot, and then change the boot order to USB first, then the hard drive second.
     
    DSTM (Dougie) and Rustys like this.
  13. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Also, about 20 minutes into the install, the W10 setup will automatically restart. When it does, it will look like the setup has started over because the laptop will boot to the USB stick again. All you need to do at that point is take out the USB stick and restart the laptop.

    When the install is complete, go back into the BIOS, restore the defaults, then save the changes and exit.
     
  14. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Seth
    I followed your instructions and got the USB to start the install process, chose advanced at the beginning, deleted all the partitions but when I tried to create a new partition I get the following message.
    couldn't create a new partition ( Error:0x800040005 )
    when I click on "show details"there's this info.
    windows cannot be installed to this disc, the computer hardware may not support booting to this disc, ensure that the disc's controller is enabled in the computer's BIOS menu.

    I don't know how to get off this page and get back to the BIOS menu.
     
  15. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    A bit more info......there is a Drive 0 Unallocated Space 29.1 GB highlighted, when I click "next" I get the message 2 we couldn't create a new partition or locate an existing one. for more info. see setup log files.

    thanks a million nottonto
     
  16. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Go back into the BIOS and look for an AHCI setting, as I'm thinking it may be disabled. If so, enable it, save the changes, then try the install again.
     
  17. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Continued from my last post...

    If that doesn't work, go back into the BIOS, restore the defaults, save the changes, then try the F12 boot option I mentioned earlier.
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2018
  18. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Seth
    I've located the Sata Operation...AHCI setting but I'm unable to alter it, at the moment I'm going around in circles a bit.
     
  19. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    566
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Read my last post.
     
  20. nottonto

    nottonto Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 19, 2017
    Messages:
    12
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hi Seth
    success.
    what I did was.......
    at the point where windows would not install on the last partition, I formatted it, that did the job, windows successfully installed and I have 18 GB free space....fantastic.
    I've just noticed that figure has gone down to 16.6 GB so something must still be going-on?

    anyway, thanks a million for your invaluable help/expertise

    great work you're doing, cheers nottonto
     

Share This Page