1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

W/L Adapter disabled after Windows Update

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Tony D, Jun 13, 2018.

  1. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    This past Saturday I was called to customer who lost his Internet access. I found his wireless network card was disabled. I enabled it. That fixed the problem. I noticed that there was a Windows update the day before. It was KB 4287903. I also noted that he was on Windows 10 v1803 build 17134.48.

    Today while checking my notes, I found that I was there in December 2017 for the same problem. Wireless network card was disabled. Enabling it fixed the problem. I noted that time that he had recently updated to the Fall Creators Update.

    The adapter is an Intel Dual Band Wireless AC, 3160.
    The error code associated with the disabled adapter was Code 22 which indicates it was disabled manually or by Windows because of low system resources. The machine is a Dell Inspiron 5559 with 8 GB RAM.

    Any thoughts on why this happened twice now and both times after an update?
     
  2. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    532
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    It's aliens.

    Provided that the system resources are fine, then try a USB wireless stick.

    Did it originally come with W7?
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2018
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Yes, it originally came with W7.
     
  4. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    532
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Ya, no surprise there.

    Wipe it and clean install W10.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Really? I think I'll wait a bit. Maybe I'll do a clean install if it happens again.
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    532
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    If it happens again, maybe disable "Allow the computer to turn off this device to save power". It's a long shot though.

    Did you find out why there was low resources? Maybe they need to restart the computer more often to clear the ram.
     
  7. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    That's a good thought. Thanks.

    I haven't looked at the machine since last week. It's a nice unit for a couple that does only email and Internet.

    I just remembered it has an SSD. That shouldn't affect this but who knows?
     

Share This Page