1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

USB Hard Drive

Discussion in 'General Software' started by biferi, Sep 6, 2019.

  1. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am going to use my USB SATA 3 Hard Drive for Storage on my Win7.

    I plug the Drive into my USB Dock and go to Disc Manag.
    I then Initialize the Disc.

    Then I Right Click the Disc and yes I am still in Disc Manag.

    And I go to Format it and Set the Disc Name and Pick the Drive Letter.
    And a Check is in Quick Format but I take the Check out of it.

    Because it is a New 1. TB. Drive and I want to do a Full Format.

    So I Click Ok and it says it is Formatting.

    I come back to it after a Long Time and a windows says Windows Can Not Format Drive
    Format Was Unsuccessful.

    Can anybody help I am using Win7. 64Bit Home Premium?
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,202
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    No need to assign a drive letter. That may be your problem as another device may be using that drive letter.

    Try not assigning a drive letter.
    Try doing a Quick Format. If that's successful, then try again without the check in Quick Format.

    Did you choose NTFS as the file format?

    Curious, what is the make and model of the external drive?
     
  3. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    427
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Why?

    I own 7 newer external hard drives. They range in size from 500 GB to 2TB. Out of the box they are formatted as NTFS, which is the best file system to use if you expect files over 4GB to be stored on them. I have NEVER formatted any of these drives.

    Plug the drive into the dock, open Windows Explorer and move files back and forth between the computer and the external drive.
     
    Last edited: Sep 7, 2019
  4. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It is a SATA 3. Hard Drive to go into a DeskTop PC.
    But I am putting it into my USB Docking Station and the Dock Plugs into my DeskTop PC. with a USB 3. Cable.

    The Hard Drive is
    Western Digital 10EZEX
    7200 RPM
    64 MB Cache NEW.

    Last Night I went into My Computer and Right Clicked on this Drive and Picked Format.
    I Pick NTFS and Click Ok.

    It did start to go Good I See the Line Move from Left to Right.

    It is 1. TB. in Size so I left it over Night.

    And to Day a Windows says
    Windows can not Format this Drive.

    I Format all my New Hard Drives I put in my Docking Station.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,202
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    That's just a basic hard drive. No case electronics involved. It should format properly.

    I suggested you try the Quick Format. Did you try that?

    Also, you can download and install WD's test tool (Data Lifeguard) here https://support-en.wd.com/app/answers/detail/a_id/6226
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,202
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Another thought, does the docking station also plug into an electrical outlet for power?
     
  7. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    If I keep the Check in Quick Format and Click Ok it Tells me Right Away Windows can not Format this Drive.

    So I keep the Check in Quick Format and it starts to Format.
    And it goes Good but when I come back it says Windows Can not Format this Drive.

    And all my Drives are C: for my Win7 D: for my DVD Rom Drive F: H: G: E: are for my ther Hard Drives and my Card Reader.
    So I know I am Ok with Drive I: for the new Drive.
     
  8. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,202
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Sounds like you know what you're doing. Try that WD software to check the drive.
     
  9. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I will try the WD Test Program.

    But in the Disk Manage Window it does say

    Disk 5.
    931.51 GB
    Online

    And to the Right of this it says

    I:
    931.51 GB RAW
    Healthy Primary Partion.

    And it does Show up in My Computer with my other Drives.
    But if I go to Format it Windows does it to the End but then says Windows was Un Able to Format this Drive.

    If I Right Click this Drive in Disk Manage window I do See Mark Volume As Active.
    Should I do this?
     
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,202
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    You don't want to mark it as Active.

    Can you send files to the disk and retrieve them?

    Also, just for fun, do you have another computer to try formatting the drive on?
     
  11. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    In Disc Manage for my New Drive it says Healthy.
    And it says it is Online.

    But it does not Show up in My Computer.
    And if I go through Formatting it it goes to the End then Windows tells me it was Un Able to Format.

    My Screen Shots never work so I can not Upload one.
    I did try to Delete Volume and do it all over again.
    And no good.

    I did put the Drive in another Dock Bay and the same thing.
     
  12. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    316
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I just went into Disk Manage and Right Click on the Drive and Selected Delete Volume.
    And it asks me if I want to Backup Data before I start.

    I Click No and it goes off.

    But the Drive still says Healthy and Online.

    It never works???
     

Share This Page