1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Task Scheduler problem

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by doug brown, Jan 23, 2016.

  1. doug brown

    doug brown Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    Hi guys got a small problem with vista. the laptop is a dell inspiron 1525. it's been in use since 2010. my wife had it then a few years ago passed it to me. it runs fine other than the massive dust bunny in the fan tunnel than caused it to shut down when it got hot. but over the past year or so iv'e been getting a message that the task scheduler stopped working. it really don't cause the laptop problems it's just a nuisance seeing it random and multiple times a day using it. i found the task scheduler in the laptop search feature but i'm unsure what needs attention. anyone have a suggestion how to fix the issue so the message don't show up any more?
     
  2. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Kenny94 likes this.
  3. doug brown

    doug brown Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    Thanks for the link. i'll go over it and see what i come up with.
     
  4. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    First thing I'd do is get a couple cans of compressed air and blow all the ports, vents you see, blow them out. Then buy a chill pad....it's not necessary but very helpful in aiding in the cooling of the laptop...well worth the investment.
     
  5. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Good points all as you must keep a laptop as clean as possible and a cooling pad is almost a must these days.
     
  6. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    905
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    My Toshiba laptop has rarely been shut off going on 5 years. It sets on a desk with a light way table cloth. I check the vents occasionally.
    I have blown them out, but there was very little dust. The air cumming out of the exhaust vent is not even what I would consider warm.
    It has a 4 core processor. There are no warm places on the surface. Maybe I'm lucky, but there has never been a heating problem.
    Check these Speccy temps. HWMoitor will show the same temps. I do not need a cooling pad. Sorry guys!
     

    Attached Files:

  7. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    905
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
  8. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Sounds to me like panty hose over the vents might smother it, but I really never heard that one.
    Let's not forget your "bullet proof" laptop is not the one Doug owns and we are trying to address his issues.
    I think for anyone use of a cooling pad can only help and at the very least it surely cannot hinder performance.
     
    bassfisher6522 likes this.
  9. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I was stumped on "pantry".......LOL! Ah.....those infamous lady garments....pantyhose.
     
  10. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Geez I guess I can read "Donetao Speak" as I didn't even notice that!
     
  11. donetao

    donetao Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2015
    Messages:
    905
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    My bad! LOL Rich knows me to well. Sorry didn't mean to infer that a cooling pad is not a good idea. Just wanted to brag a little on my old Toshiba. A cooling pad is a good idea if your having heat problems. If you don't have a program to check temps and voltages, I recommend HWMonitor! I think this is a good link and free of those dang PUP's!
    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html
     
  12. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I prefer HWiNFO64.....a lot of info with this software and accurate.
     
    donetao likes this.
  13. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
  14. doug brown

    doug brown Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    I use a cool pad and it was cleaned a while ago. i keep it clean. the problem is the task message popping up. as from Rick-M's suggestion it is in the start up process. i'm going through them and have found some not working and some are being stopped by some thing. so little by little i'm narrowing it down.
     
  15. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Ok we are here for you....
     
  16. bassfisher6522

    bassfisher6522 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    365
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I use CPU-Z (albeit a the custom version-Gigabyte G1, it matches my red theme) as well but it doesn't have the temps.....it combines cpuz hardware info with speedfan temps in once nice neat little package.
     
  17. IceMan37

    IceMan37 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z87M-G43
    CPU:
    I5 4690k @ 4.6
    Memory:
    16GB Hyper X 1866
    Hard Drive:
    1TB WD_Blue | 240Gb Sandosk SSD
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Power Supply:
    750W Tt
    I use CPU-Z and HWinfo64 as well both nice little programs :)
     
  18. doug brown

    doug brown Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    107
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Home Premium
    Reporting back with success. it's been running for over a week with no problems. i think it was from a older program i had for my PSP back when i was using home brew on it. the program let the psp be a second monitor for my lap top. i uninstalled it and the message hasn't show since. Thanks Rich-M for pointing me in the right direction.
     
  19. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Glad to be of help and that you got it sorted out.
     

Share This Page