1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

System Restore

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by BGBG, Feb 3, 2018.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have windows XP home SP3. I had a problem on the Windows 7 and used the system restore to go back a few days in time and that fixed it. I was looking on XP and could not find this but instead found system recovery which appeared to format hard drive and return PC to factory condition, so I quit. Does XP not have a restore to earlier pint in time feature or did I miss finding it???
    I tried Programs>Accessories>System Tools but the System Tools folder was empty. I cannot find a system restore with system restore points on this laptop.
    I checked System Properties and the turn off box did not have a check and it did not seem to be turned off, if this laptop has the feature. Looks as if it expects to have it. But if so I cannot find it. Only the System Recovery that returns it to factory condition.
     
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2018
  2. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
  3. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It says Started and Automatic, but the Performance and maintenance wording is omitted from my list. Mine is Gateway. Maybe the list is different depending on who makes the PC. But it looks like it IS turned on. Will keep looking. Should be a way to make system restore points. Have never used this very much.
    I read somewhere that people make system restore points whenever they start computing or before installing things.
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    In the link that Starbuck sent, the instructions for creating a restore point manually is about 1/2 way down. Take another look at that link.
     
  5. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Is this it? If so it seems to be enabled so I guess I just do not know how to use it. I THOUGHT I did in the past though. No time to really work with this now. Easy on the Dell W7.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,185
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    To create a system restore point in XP, Bill, click on All programs at the start menu.
    Under Accessories, click on System Tools.
    Click the System Restore icon.
    To create a manual restore point, click the tab Create a Restore Point.
    Press the Next button.
    In the open box, select the date and time and name your restore point.
    When you are done, press the button labeled Create.
    You should receive a confirmation letting you know that your restore point has been created.
     
    Tony D and DSTM (Dougie) like this.
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,622
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    The thing is Cindy, the system tools foloder is EMPTY. Whatever should have beenj there is NOT there. The System Tools folder prior to this one (there is one then another) only has Internet Explorer with no add ons. Something must be missing for some reason, if it was ever there.
    The Programs/Accessories/Accessories/SystemTools/EMPTY FOLDER is where it should be. The Programs/Accessories/SystemTools/Internet Explorer(no add-ons) is the other.
    I do not know how to find whatever should have been there. Is there any way to find it or get it back? I know how to create a restore point if I can ever find the program that does it.
    Thanks for the help but it does not seem to be on this computer, or if it is I have not located it.
    There is a System Recovery in the Programs menu but I looked at it first and it seems to be to format the hard drive and restore the PC to its store-bought condition and I did not think I wanted to do that. Maybe it got left off this model. Gateway 7320GZ 3-5-2005 from Best Buy.
    Something is funny though. The folder where it should be (see attached) looks like a folder I made, so it could be I moved or lost the folder contents somehow for the folder System Tools is empty.
    So if I run system recovery I may have all the programs but will have lost all the things I installed since then. I am in a mess.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 5, 2018
  8. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,669
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Basically what is in there are only shortcuts.
    The programs are probably still on your system.
    This link is to someone that somehow deleted the Accessories/System Tools folder completely.
    But it does explain where to find everything.

    Here

    It should help.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    On XP, I get into System Restore by using the RUN command in the Start Menu. I type in msconfig and hit OK.
    upload_2018-2-6_16-54-14.png

    The button to run System Restore is at the bottom of the screen.

    upload_2018-2-6_16-55-20.png

    From there, you can manually create a restore point.

    upload_2018-2-6_16-55-52.png
     

    Attached Files:

    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.

Share This Page