1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

System Image

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by biferi, Nov 15, 2020.

  1. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    457
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have Win10 64 Bit and a 1. TB. Hard Drive.

    I am not using my Whole 1. TB. Hard Drive but I still thought that when you make a Full System Image it will make the Image with the Empty Space as well.

    So I got a Blank 1. TB. Hard Drive to make my System Image to and then found out the Image did not make that Big of a File.

    So Tell me this?
    I know the Win10 MBR keeps a Log of How Big your Hard Drive is.
    And yes I have it using the Whole 1. TB. of Hard Drive.

    So if you make an Image is it not making the Image to show your Empty Space as well?
    So if you ever Bring the Image back over it will Lay Down the Epty Spaces as well?

    Or what am I Missing?
     
  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,122
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    You are only going to make an image of what is physically on the hard drive.
    You don't image the free space.
    This also allows you to make more than one image.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  3. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    That's how it was years and years ago. And that was fine with 100Mb drives were considered huge. But folks soon realized that was just a stupid, inefficient waste of expensive disk space. Plus, folks started to save image files on writable DVDs which have very limited space.

    Another problem was folks often want to restore images on different size drives. So if you had 300GB of data on a 1TB drive and your drive failed, you could not restore the image to a 500GB drive even though you had plenty of space to do so.

    And then another problem was if the destination drive had a bad sector and the image insisted it needed to put data in that same sector (because that's where it was on the source drive), the restored image would fail.

    As Cindy noted, if you are using 300GB and your destination drive is 1TB, you could save 3 full images to that 1 destination drive.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and IJAC like this.
  4. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    457
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I always Made a Win7. Full Image onto my USB Hard Drive and then a Boot Disc as well.

    So if my Hard Drive ever went Bad I could just Install a New Hard Drive then use the Boot Disc I Made to get the Image off of the USB Hard Drive.

    And all will be ok.
     
  5. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    That's the whole point of making image backups, right?

    What you need to do is get a backup program you like (I use Macrium Reflect) and try it. Practice so you know how to use it. Then hope you never need too.
     
    IJAC and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.
  6. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Oh, and for the record, I would NEVER get myself boxed in by saying, "all will be okay". But we do what we can to mitigate the risks and increase our chances of success. When it comes to backups, that's why any robust backup plan will have, and every backup plan should have multiple backups of the data, preferably with at least one backup maintained "off-site".
     
    IJAC likes this.
  7. biferi

    biferi Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    457
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Is the one in Win10 ok?
     
  8. Digerati

    Digerati Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    32
    Location:
    Nebraska, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    It works.
     

Share This Page