1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Sudden Freezing, Then Sudden Crash

Discussion in 'BSOD, App Crashes and Hangs' started by Elementis, Mar 21, 2016.

  1. Elementis

    Elementis Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    As of one morning, I woke up to find my computer non-responsive.

    You could boot it up, but the screen would say that it couldn't find a connection- like nothing was being transmitted- moving the mouse around and typing on the keyboard didn't help.

    So after looking inside my computer and moving the RAM around, it came back on and started working normally, then at random intervals, it would freeze.

    So what I did is a virus scan, a defrag, a disk clean, checked all connections, moved RAM into different slots, checked temperatures, did a full cleaning of the computer, checked the fans, and a RAM check.

    Everything checked out fine- and worked seemingly fine after that until tonight when I had booted up a game of Populous 2- a game that should have no issues running on my system. and that's when my computer crashed out of nowhere, as if i had hard booted it down.

    I can't find any problems. Bitdefender finds nothing, there's no corrosion, no loose wires or wires touching where there shouldn't be and RAM scans turn up nothing as well. All of the parts look to be in peak condition too.

    My System specs are as follows:

    Operating System
    Windows 10 Home 64-bit

    CPU
    AMD FX-8350 26 °C
    Vishera 32nm Technology

    RAM
    32.0GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 802MHz (10-10-10-30)

    Motherboard
    ASUSTeK COMPUTER INC. SABERTOOTH 990FX R2.0 (Socket 942) 38 °C

    Graphics
    BenQ GL2450H (1920x1080@60Hz)
    2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (ASUStek Computer Inc) 29 °C
    2047MB NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760 (ASUStek Computer Inc) 25 °C
    ForceWare version: 364.51
    SLI Enabled

    Hard Drives
    2795GB Seagate ST3000DM001-1CH166 (SATA) 26 °C
    119GB Corsair Force GS (SSD) 23 °C
    1863GB Seagate ST2000DM001-1CH164 (SATA) 27 °C

    Optical Drives
    ASUS DRW-24F1ST
    ASUS DRW-24F1ST

    Audio
    Realtek High Definition Audio
     
  2. GimboV

    GimboV Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2014
    Messages:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus X99 Deluxe
    CPU:
    I7 5930K oc'd to 4.4ghz
    Memory:
    16GB Corsair Vengeance 2800mhz
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung 850 pro 256GB Seagate Hybrid 2TB
    Graphics Card:
    EVGA Nvidia 970 4GB GDDR5
    Power Supply:
    Corsair HX1000I
    I think this may have caused an issue. Did you move the sticks to new slots? Might want to try re-seating the RAM again. And if it was moved putting it back where it came from.
     
  3. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Both those GPU's draw 170 watts. What PSU brand and wattage are you running and how old?
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,709
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I've seen this happen before. I'm betting on the power supply also.
     
  5. Elementis

    Elementis Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Re-seated the RAM, no issues so far...

    It's a Corsair TX850M - and also little over a year old. I gave it a check- there doesn't seem to be anything wrong connection wise.
     
  6. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    What do the logs show?

    Can you get the system into safe mode with networking? Can you make connection there?

    Have you checked the logs for anti virus/ fire wall/ malware? Another program glitching?
     
  7. Elementis

    Elementis Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    I can get the system into safe mode with networking, yes and the connection works fine.

    The Logs for Anti-virus, Firewall and malware all show that the system is operating normally.

    I'm currently checking to see if something may be glitching.

    I've also updated the drivers for just about everything to be sure something isn't wigging out with that.
     
  8. Elementis

    Elementis Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Alright- I just disassembled my entire computer- cleaned it, re-assembled it, triple checked every connection, did another defrag, virus/malware/trojan scan, disk clean and checked the list of recently changed progs.

    Seems okay now (also a bit better, actually) - I'll be giving an update soon on if this worked or not.
     
  9. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Just a thought. The two GPU's drag up to 340 watts combined. Do the power for these two GPU's come off one connection from the PSU or separate cable? Thinking with a splitter the requirements may be too much off one connector from the PSU if you get my drift.
    What are the 12/5/3.3 volt rail readings in the Bios?

    Free "SPECCY" can give you the 12v rail readings while playing games which can be an indication how your PSU is holding up under load.

    https://www.piriform.com/speccy/download
     
    Last edited: Mar 22, 2016
  10. Elementis

    Elementis Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2012
    Messages:
    34
    Location:
    Canada
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    295d8377cdd1fd3b5101696138c6b317.gif

    After another through cleaning and a RAM slot switch, my computer has come back into full operational capacity.

    No more crashes and freezing for me!

    Thanks for the support that everyone here has given me, It's much appreciated :biggrin:
     

Share This Page