1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

SCRIPTS

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by BGBG, Nov 7, 2017.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    875
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    When I access my weather site like now, it often says "is not responding due to a long-running script". How if possible do I stop this and what are "long-running scripts" anyway?
     
  2. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    If you are having trouble with a site, please post the link. There are too many weather sites for us to know which one you use.
    Also, always post the browser you use to access the problem site. Again, different browsers react differently. I always have at least 3 different browsers on each computer to test. (Example: at another site a streaming music site would not load for someone. It also did not load for me on Palemoon and Internet Explorer but streamed after about 5 seconds on Vivaldi browser.)
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and Tony D like this.
  3. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    875
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  4. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,066
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Opened for me fine, with Firefox.
     
  5. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Opened in Palemoon, IE 11, and Vivaldi with no problem on Win 7 (32 bit).

    You did not post the browser so i could not give directions on stopping scripts.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  6. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    To add what others have stated.

    No problem FireFox on Linux (64 bit)

    Have you tried clearing Cache and Cookies?
    Running browser with out add ons?
    Resetting the browser?
     
  7. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,066
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    As far as I know, Bill uses Firefox.
     
    Rustys and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.
  8. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    875
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Sorry. Firefox 52 XP and 56 W7. My windows 7 is 64 bit; XP is 32 bit. This script-thing just started happening recently. Eventually it goes on when it is ready.
     
  9. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,066
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Do what Rusty said in #6.
    It is not going to go away by itself.
    Doesn't mater what version of Firefox, you have.
     

Share This Page