1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Screen blinks and moves

Discussion in 'Windows 8' started by Yuwnii, Oct 23, 2019.

  1. Yuwnii

    Yuwnii

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Hi,

    Since yesterday the screen of my Asus went blinking and moving weirdly, random parts of the screen move or blink, the display does bad and in all the ways. It's still more or less usable but it's difficult. Usable in a sens where I can use Windows menus and start/reboot the computer. But that's all, apps like chrome or firefox are unusable.

    I've tried all the following with no success :
    - Install last graphic card driver
    - system restore impossible (an unspecified error occured during system restore
    0x8007000e)
    - chkdsk /R on C:\
    - system refresh
    - Reinstall Windows 8.1

    Problem is still there it's crazy.
    In the UEFI bios : no problem
    Loading screen with Asus logo at startup : no problem
    Windows installer from USB drive : no problem
    But as soon as Windows runs the problem is there.

    When installing Windows, there's first the setup to create partitions and launch the installation, here no problem, everything goes through and the PC restarts, but when it's done and Windows runs from the very first installation screen to choose a name for the PC, the problem is there.

    Help

    Edit :
    Machine : Asus ROG G551JM-CN105H
    Graphic card : NVIDIA Geforce GTX 860M
    I don't use the battery, it's removed and the PC connected to the sector since more than 1 year
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,299
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome Yuwnii. Because the problem doesn't appear until Windows starts loading, we're probably looking at a driver issue.

    Try booting in Safe Mode.
     
    Seth Anthony likes this.
  3. Yuwnii

    Yuwnii

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    Hello Tony, thank you very much for your answer. I actually tried going via safe mode several times and the problems is still there when doing so. And surprisingly it's even worst during safe mode. What could it mean ?
     
  4. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    947
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    To further narrow down the problem, try plugging in an external screen using the hdmi port.
     
  5. Yuwnii

    Yuwnii

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    tried it and the the external display showed the same problem, I'm a bit lost...
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    947
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
  7. Yuwnii

    Yuwnii

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Messages:
    4
    Operating System:
    Windows 8
    thing is I don't have a license key for windows 10 but I'll try it anyway just to see, thank you very much for your answer
     
  8. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    947
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    You don't need a license key to install W10. Also, given that you have W8 on the system already, W10 should self activate once it's installed.

    W10 can even be installed on W7 system and activated with the W7 key. The reason MS allows this on W7 and W8 systems, is that they want everyone using W10.
     
  9. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,299
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Once W10 is installed, I don't know that you can go back to W8. I know you could revert back when W10 first came out years ago. I don't know if there is still an option to revert back.
     
  10. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    947
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    No you can't go back like that. To go back like that, Windows offers the media creation tool for W8.1 as well:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows8ISO
     

Share This Page