1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Resetting W-10 Login To Bypass Password & Pin Option

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by timh1111, Apr 13, 2019.

  1. timh1111

    timh1111 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Tampa, FL. USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron
    Memory:
    8 Gigs
    Hi again folks. I bought an HP laptop running W-10 a little over a year ago. When I went through the initial set-up steps, I chose the option to login using a pin as opposed to password. I offered my wife to use the laptop for her work from home overtime so I want to reset the laptop to go directly to desktop without login options. How do I do this? If there is already an existing post about this, please direct me to it. As always, thanks. :)
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Check in Settings, under Accounts and Sign in options.
     
  3. timh1111

    timh1111 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Tampa, FL. USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron
    Memory:
    8 Gigs
    Hey Tony. Checked that setting and it shows "Require Sign-In - NEVER". I rebooted and it is asking me for my password. Under the "Pin" option in Accounts>Settings it shows "Add" so pretty sure the pin option was changed. Now how to get past the password sign in option so it goes straight to my desktop.
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Get back to the Sign in options. Select change password.
    Enter you current password where it requests that you do so.
    Leave the new password and password confirmation boxes empty.
    Click on Next or Save or whatever you need to complete the task. I don't remember off hand exactly what it wants.

    At this point, you have no password on your computer.
     
  5. timh1111

    timh1111 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Tampa, FL. USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron
    Memory:
    8 Gigs

    At this point, I am at the "Change Password" screen and am being asked to enter old password and to create new password(s). After entering the old password, I click "Next" and it is requiring me to enter the new password(s) [stays on "Change Password" screen with notice of "This information is required"] .
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,095
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    You may have a computer account associated with a Microsoft account. Get back to Settings and then Accounts. Click on Your Info. Does it look like mine - meaning, does it say Local Account and Sign in with a Microsoft account instead?

    upload_2019-4-13_18-2-48.png
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  7. timh1111

    timh1111 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Tampa, FL. USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Dell Inspiron
    Memory:
    8 Gigs
    It shows me 2 options in blue..."Manage my Microsoft account" and "Sign in with a local account instead".
     
  8. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    821
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
  9. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,486
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Best option :thmbup:
    M$ don't make it easy to change this setting as a few options are now hidden.
    netplwiz is the easiest way of getting to the required option.
     
    Tony D, lkjk and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.

Share This Page