1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Reset fail

Discussion in 'Backup and Recovery' started by Lenovouser, May 30, 2021.

  1. Lenovouser

    Lenovouser

    Joined:
    May 30, 2021
    Messages:
    1
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I have a Lenovo laptop with W10.

    The LP failed to load, and eventually I tried to do a System Restore. It was asking for an account password and I had no idea what it was, or even what “account” it was referring to.
    Eventually I gave up and decided to bite the bullet and went fir a full reset.

    However, this now comes up, and when I do as it says, it returns after a moment or so.

    49677DD1-7873-4FDB-B52E-3EFC36D2443B.jpeg

    The LP is less than a year old from Curry’s. Is it worth returning or will they say it is a software issue and not covered?

    The Network Adapter failed a few months ago, during lockdown , which I rectified y buying a USB Zone.

    I would appreciate any help or guidance, and apologise fir the long first post.

    Thanks
     
  2. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Tony D likes this.
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,147
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Good finds. I'd try the Automatic Repair option first.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  4. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,315
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    I'm thinking that either the recovery partition is corrupt, or the hard drive has a problem.

    You may have to end doing a manual install of W10 using a USB stick with W10 on it.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  5. Barry

    Barry

    Joined:
    May 5, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    For future reference using Win10, the account it is asking for is your Microsoft Account, you probably might have set this up when first used the Laptop?
     
    IJAC and allheart55 (Cindy E) like this.

Share This Page