1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Remove grey background from menu bar (FF 57.0.2)

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by OurJud, Dec 8, 2017.

  1. OurJud

    OurJud Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I picked up a homepage re-direct virus earlier, and used an adware removal tool to get rid. This worked just fine, but it reset all my Firefox styling. Before this I had it just as I want, but for the life of me I can't figure out how to get rid of the light grey background from the menu bar at the top of the browser (File Edit View History, etc).

    I know it can be removed altogether, but I don't want to do that. I just want to get rid of the grey background to it.

    As for the style and themes, I'm using the 'dark' theme, and 'Compact' under the Density setting.

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Jud. Change you Window Border colour under "Desktop/Personalize" and that will change the grey in your background menu.
    I have dark blue window border, and my menu is light blue.
     
    OurJud likes this.
  3. OurJud

    OurJud Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks, @DSTM (Dougie), but that doesn't appear to be the problem. There's a separate lighter background on FF's menu bar (maybe semi-transparent, difficult to tell) that sits on top of the window border colour.

    Also, I want black borders, and changing the window border colour changes the colour of the taskbar too (which I don't want).

    There's no black to choose from, but I can get black by adjusting the sliders. However, this just reverts to how it was before with the horrible grey background behind the menu bar.

    grey_background.png
     
    Last edited: Dec 8, 2017
  4. OurJud

    OurJud Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Found a workaround for now. The only things I ever use from the menu bar are 'bookmarks' and 'options', so I went to customise (right click at top of browser) and dragged those two things alongside the other icons either side of the address bar. After that I could hide the menu bar without losing quick access to the two features I use the most.
     
  5. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Good, you have found a fix. :thmbup:
    I always turn Aero off.
     
    OurJud likes this.
  6. OurJud

    OurJud Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Aero?
     
  7. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Aero is the transparent look in the Task Bar, instead of a solid colour.
    Maybe you haven't got Aero, enabled.
     
  8. OurJud

    OurJud Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I had a look in the taskbar options (I'm on W7 by the way) and the Aero feature for me (which I do have enabled) appears to be a feature which temporarily shows the desktop when you hover over the little button on the far right of the TB. It doesn't make it transparent at all.
     
  9. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    When choosing border colours, you can enable transparency.
    That's what I meant.:)
    Aero, was the wrong word, Sorry.

    Got serious Family issues, and not thinking clear.

    transparency.png
     
    Rustys and OurJud like this.
  10. OurJud

    OurJud Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    39
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Ah! Yeah, I tried that and couldn't figure out what it did.

    No need to reply - just going round in circles now :)
     

Share This Page