1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Recommended PSU?

Discussion in 'Power Supply - PSU' started by KazzUK, Jun 4, 2013.

  1. KazzUK

    KazzUK

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    For some strange reason, my PSU doesn't say the amount of wattage is has, so I want to buy a new one as I've had it for over 2 years now. Which type would be appropriate for my hardware?

    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T
    Thuban 45nm Technology
    8.00 GB Dual-Channel DDR3 @ 666MHz
    FOXCONN A88GMX
    AMD Radeon HD 7800 Series
    977GB Hitachi Hitachi HDS721010CLA332 ATA Device
    TSSTcorp CDDVDW SH-S223C ATA Device

    I'm thinking either 700W or a 750W
     
  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi All depends on the card naturally.
    Wattage around 600Watt for the HD7800 Series is ample.
    Any higher wattage than 600Watt is overkill.:)
     
    BLKBRD37 likes this.
  3. KazzUK

    KazzUK

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    thanks dstm :3
    I looked on the side of it (lol) and its a 500W, so aye I think I'll go with a 600 :) thank you
     
  4. KazzUK

    KazzUK

    Joined:
    May 19, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  5. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    I have a similar problem. Looks like my CPU (BESTEX ATX-250-12Z Rev D7R is kaput. My computer is HP p6110f with Windows Vista. Got with HP on a chat line for some info. They say there is no compatible PSU to replace this - don't quite follow that. Was looking for a similar CPU on Ebay with slightly revison but when I asked if it would be compatible with mine i got no joy. Since then I have tried to remove the installed the current PSU but after undoing the four screws it won't budge. Any comments on all of this?
    Thank you.
    bb37
     
  6. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Hi DSTM. Placed my problem above - not sure if is in the right place. Thanks. bb37
     
  7. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi. This is an old thread so will leave your posts here.

    After undoing the 4 screws grab the wiring harness on the PSU and give it a wriggle and it should come out OK.
    I can't see why any 350-500 Watt replacement PSU wouldn't work being a Desktop Computer.
     
  8. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,970
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    H.P. is known for it's proprietary hardware. I've found that the AC plug doesn't line up with the
    pre-drilled space. In some cases I've been able to force it to fit but I wouldn't recommend you doing so....
     
  9. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,970
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
  10. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
  11. BLKBRD37

    BLKBRD37 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2012
    Messages:
    119
    Location:
    UK
    Operating System:
    Windows Vista Enterprise
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Pavillion
    CPU:
    Intel 5300
    Memory:
    6GB
    Hard Drive:
    640GB
    Graphics Card:
    Intel GMA 3100
    Power Supply:
    110v
    Much appreciated DSTM. Still can't sem to budge it. I will look for another PSU anyway. Forgot to mention that when I turn the CP on I get a flashing green light on the PSU but nohing happens when the button on the CP is pushed.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 11, 2013
  12. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,970
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I understand that newegg doe not ship to the UK. My suggestion was to do a local search.
    :)
     

Share This Page