1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

RAM upgrade question

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Ryen Goebel, May 6, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Ryen Goebel

    Ryen Goebel

    Joined:
    May 6, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hey everyone I want to upgrade my ram just want to make sure this is compatible with my system.

    acer aspire nitro 5 an517-54 laptop

    Crucial 16GB Kit (8GBx2) DDR4 2666 MT/s (PC4-21300) SR x8 SODIMM 260-Pin Memory

    Are there two slots for Ram? I read there was.
    Any help appreciated, noob here
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hello and welcome Ryen, For the definitive answer, go to Crucial.com and click on the Scan Computer button. It's download a scanner tool to your computer. Once it's downloaded, run the program. It'll tell you what you have in your computer and how many slots your computer has. It'll also provide a list of available upgrades.

    Here's the result of a scan on my computer. Note that is shows I have 2 RAM slots with a max amount of 8 GB. The scanner used to tell you how much RAM is currently installed in each slot.

    From here, click on the Memory button to see what kind of RAM your machine requires.
    upload_2020-5-6_9-39-52.png
     
    IJAC likes this.
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,280
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Here's another scan result. This one from another computer. This one does show how much RAM is installed in each slot.
    upload_2020-5-6_9-50-1.png
     
    IJAC likes this.
  4. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    622
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Yes you have 2 slots also Crucial guarantees it to be compatible. I 've never had a problem with the memory from Crucial it just works it is also guaranteed for life ( most memory is these days). To be totally sure do the scan Tony recommended. One thing to think about if that is new and still under warranty make sure you don't void the warranty on it. Looks like a really nice laptop hope it works good for you.

    Memory
    • Max Supported Size
      32 GB
    • Technology
      DDR4 SDRAM
    • Form Factor
      SO-DIMM 260-pin
    • Slots Qty
      2
    • Empty Slots
      1
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2020

Share This Page