1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Problem with Disk Cleanup

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by John Stenger, Oct 26, 2015.

  1. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    329
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Suddenly when I use Disk Cleanup I get to "Clean up files of all users on this computer" the screen goes black! I click the screen again it lights but the same box is sitting there and no matter how many times I click it ...it goes nowhere ...I know it's supposed to be analyzing the file dump but it goes nowhere. ..I did try it using My Files Only and it did work correctly, ..however I can't delete old restore points using this function.
     
  2. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    329
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Thank You in Advance ...Issue was resolved by restarting! ...don't know what was causing it but it is working normally now!
     
  3. Plastic Nev

    Plastic Nev SUPER MODERATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Location:
    In front of a monitor in Blackburn Lanc's UK.
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi John, surprising how many glitches can sometimes be cleared up by a simple shut down and reboot. Glad that it cleared up the problem for you. Do let us know if it comes up again and thanks for letting us know.

    Nev.
     
  4. IceMan37

    IceMan37 Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,079
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z87M-G43
    CPU:
    I5 4690k @ 4.6
    Memory:
    16GB Hyper X 1866
    Hard Drive:
    1TB WD_Blue | 240Gb Sandosk SSD
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 970 FTW
    Power Supply:
    750W Tt
    I think Nev really nailed it, Restarting takes care of a lot of things technically. Usually a reboot will do it but sometimes a complete shutdown is needed to clear everything.
     
  5. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    I so agree. I remember the screen saver in Windows 95 "when in doubt reboot" like it was yesterday. The maon reason I shut my computers down at night and when I leave the house is shutdown is the only thing that clears memory and the biggest problem for those that never shut down which explains so many meaningless error messages is trying to solve today's problem with yesterday's memory!
     
  6. Drew

    Drew Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    In many cases, w/ many things, it's the 1st thing to try. And, as stated, oft does the trick.

    Cheers,
    Drew
     
  7. gijoetech1

    gijoetech1 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    219
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
  8. Drew

    Drew Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Does everyone already know about & use Extended Disc Clean-up (Sage) and have it set as an Automated Daily Task?

    Or should I tell about it somewhere?

    Cheers,
    Drew
     
  9. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Tell about it I never heard of it.
     
  10. Drew

    Drew Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Alright, be glad to do that... Ultimately, this might be moved to a more ideal / fitting location.

    Ok, the known, default Disc Clean-up... select one drive @ a time and have to recheck desired items each time run. And it's not automated.

    Extended Disc Clean-up... does all drives, no need to re-check boxes, plus, it avails a longer list of items and can be automated.

    It has to be done once manually before being set as a Scheduled Task. Here's how:

    cmd OR PowerShell, type cleanmgr sageset:01 & hit Enter

    Check the boxes. If one is not sure what not to check, each has a blurb for that decision.
    When done hit OK

    Back in cmd or PS, type cleanmgr sagerun:01 & hit Enter

    Now, can go configure it to run nightly @ 1AM in Task Scheduler.

    Start w/ Create Task can't one put screen shots in here from their drive? Doesn't look like it. Ummm.

    Ok, Call it Sage check Run w/ highest privileges. Description is Extended Disc Clean-up on all volumes

    Trigger, Set it to daily @ 1 AM

    Actions The path is

    C:\Windows\System32\cleanmgr.exe/sagerun:01

    NB: This can apply to Vista, 7, 8.1 & 10.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    5343a547ebad0bfa152fe98e5bd5491f.jpg
     
  11. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Thanks for that I will see what happens! I see its a more in depth clean mgr...interesting but I would do all those things manually myself as well.
     
  12. Drew

    Drew Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    You're welcome. & yes, it is much more in-depth. Can be done manually, of course, just nice having the machine do it regularly w/out the User having to think about it or bother taking any time or effort over it.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    5343a547ebad0bfa152fe98e5bd5491f.jpg
     
  13. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Just to the right of Post Reply is Upload a File.:D
     
  14. Drew

    Drew Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Oh, yes... thanks, hadn't notice that but, yep, that would do it. Thanks, again.

    And I don't find a section for Tips, Suggestions, Best Practices, etc... things like what I mentioned about Sage & getting rid of dust. Is there, indeed, already a section of/for such things?

    Cheers,
    Drew
    thVY64FD02.jpg
     
  15. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,240
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    We have a Tips And Tricks Category in the Resource section.

    Click on Resources at the top left of the board. See screenshot.....

    resource.png

    Once you are in Resources, click Add Resource. In the popup window, select Tips and Tricks in the drop down menu. See screenshot.....

    tips and tricks.png
     
  16. Drew

    Drew Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Ok, thanks, Cindy. Not very obvious, kind of 'hidden' but, still, thanks. I have a bunch of stuff I could put in there... just not sure anyone will see it.

    Cheers,
    Drew
    thVY64FD02.jpg
     
  17. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    They will see anything new anywhere Drew if they come in with "new posts" which we always advise forum members to do.
     
  18. Drew

    Drew Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Alrighty, fair enough, then :)
     

Share This Page