1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Preferable Browser

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by BGBG, Jan 24, 2018.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Is Internet Explorer 11 or Firefox preferable default browser, or does it make a difference. Firefox is havinga lot of failure to connect and strange problems lately.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    It's a matter of personal preference.
     
  3. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,755
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Have you tried resetting Firefox, Bill?
    That may solve the problem.
     
  4. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I think I reset it once and it may not even be the browser. If it is acceptable to use IE 11 I think I will try it for awhile.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Go ahead and try IE 11.

    I use IE, Chrome, and Firefox.
     
  6. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    234
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Palemoon as default.
    FF ESR as backup.
    Then to test sites, IE 11, Vivaldi, Waterfox and Chrome portable. I have chrome installed on a USB stick because I don't want to install it on any of our Windows computers.

    What version of Firefox are you running?
     
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    58.0 64bit
     
  8. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    234
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Okay, you are running the latest. (I don't have that installed anywhere). So perhaps what I post is no longer present.

    Go into your addons and if you have a lot disabled, remove them. With v 57, the old addon system no longer works.

    Write down what you deleted and see if there are addons for the new system that do what you want.

    I also go into Options, Advanced tab, Data Choices and uncheck the 2 choices there. That can slow things down in the browser is going to Mozilla with a Health Report and a Crash Report.
     
  9. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Is Google Chrome compatable with Windows XP Home 32bit? If so what is a safe download site? Thought I had google chrome but cannot find that I do.
     
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,622
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    It's compatible, but it hasn't been updated recently. If you use it, you will get a message that it's no longer supported.

    The download site is https://www.google.com/chrome/
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  11. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Maybe that is why it is not installed?
     
  12. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,075
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Installed the 64bit chrome for W7. Cannot seem to set the default search engine to DuckDuckGo as it lists below the ones it wants you to use. Anyone know how to set Duck as default search?

    Sorry...I figured it out. I turned on the Home button and typed in duckduckgo.com address then clicked the home icon next to the Left, Right,Reload arrows at top left corner. Must be a way to have that come up when it opens but no time to figure it out tonight. Probably will find it soon if it exists.
     
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2018

Share This Page