1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Picture Tiles remain in default

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Almost Nearly Sociable, Jun 16, 2022.

  1. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Hello,
    I have noticed that something might be missing from my pc. The picture tiles which normally show the actual picture now only show the default tile. Before, the tiles showed pictures in small and large tiles, but now it is all the generic default tiles. Any idea what settings I should change or other action I should take?
    Thank You.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Can you open the pictures if you double click on them?
     
    IJAC likes this.
  3. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    That's good. Does it open using the Photos program?

    If not, right click on one of the photos.
    Choose Open with > Choose another app.
    Choose Photos
    at the bottom, put a check mark in always use this app to open whatever type of files they are.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  5. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Yes, it does open with photos. That's all I have to open with.
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    In that case, when you go to Open with > choose another app, choose maybe Paint and check the box to always use Paint. See how that works.
    Then go back and to Open with > Choose another app and select Photos this time. Also check the box to always use the Photos app.

    We're trying to reset things here. Sometimes toggling off and then back in will fix it.

    You should see something like
    upload_2022-6-16_21-6-7.png
     
    IJAC likes this.
  7. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Ok, I did that and the pic opened in paint and also again in photos, but at no time did I see "Also check the box to always use the Photos app."
     
  8. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    The box says "Always use this app to open ___ files" The type of file is dependent on the type of file you initially right clicked on.
    Refer to the screen shot I provided. It's at the bottom.
    So you select the app you want to use and then tell Windows to always use that app.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  9. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Ok, I did that, but the tiles are still just generic. I can open the pics ok, it's just that the tiles remain just tiles when I view the folder.
     
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    OK, Go to the Search box on your taskbar.
    Type in Performance.
    Choose Adjust the appearance and appearance of Windows.
    Put a checkmark in Show thumbnails instead of icons.
    Click Apply, Click OK.

    upload_2022-6-16_21-54-24.png
     
    IJAC likes this.
  11. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    It was already checked.
     
  12. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Try unchecking, apply and OK.

    Then go back in, check the box, apply and OK.

    Again, we’re trying to reset it.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  13. Almost Nearly Sociable

    Almost Nearly Sociable Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2021
    Messages:
    90
    Location:
    Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer
    CPU:
    ?
    Memory:
    4 G
    Hard Drive:
    ?
    Graphics Card:
    ?
    Power Supply:
    Acer
    Yes, my friend, that did work. Thank You very much and have a great day.
     
  14. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I’m glad because I ran out of ideas.
     
    starbuck and IJAC like this.

Share This Page