1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

[Solved] Performance Issues

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by daveleonard, Sep 7, 2017.

  1. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Recently I had to start using my backup laptop due to hardware issues with my main pc. But now I find issues with this one. It runs very sluggish. The cursor spins and spins when pulling up routine files. It also takes many clicks after spinning to get my Opera browser to pull up. I did the routine maint/cleaning jobs for history, unused icons, disk cleaning, etc. But when I run a speed test graphics seems to be the problem. Windows came up with five concerns and advised me to delete certain drivers if not using them. Since I have no idea if they are used or not, I came back for advice. Pls see atths and thanks so much for your help again.
    I could not upload all the files si I will try to copy and paste here: [​IMG] upload_2017-9-7_16-14-51.png upload_2017-9-7_16-16-33.png upload_2017-9-7_16-17-36.png

    Sorry, I know I attached dups but being a dup myself, cannot take them off.
    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Window 7, 64-bit running on only 2 GB RAM is Microsoft's minimum requirement. I think the minimum should be 4 GB.

    Go to the Device Manager and see if you can update that driver.
     
  3. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Sorry but I don't know exactly which driver you refer to. If it is the cd rom drive, I doubt it, windows says its up to date.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 7, 2017
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Let's see if there's an update from Intel. Click here to go to the Intel Updater. https://downloadcenter.intel.com/
    Click on Get Started. That should take you to another page. To get started, click on Download Now.
     
  5. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Ok thanks Tony, just what I needed "driver updates for dummies", ha. I down loaded and ran utility. We just wait and see if things improve? Want me to run some tests? Thanks much.
     
  6. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Did it update anything?
     
  7. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    I ran the scan and atth the results. Also got a "no drivers for my product (Acer)" note. Whether or not it updated anything, it never said.

    I ran the scan a second time, as far as I can tell no drivers were updated. The "Download" option is grayed out and no function available. So, I don't know. See second scan.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Sep 7, 2017
  8. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    No results posted. If it updated something I think, but I'm not sure, that it would have told you.

    What's listed in your Device Manager under Display Adapters?
     
  9. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Just the one Mobile IntelR) 4 Aeries Express Chipset family
     

    Attached Files:

  10. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    OK, You should be able to right-click on it and select Update.
     
  11. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Says its up to date.
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    OK thanks, Maybe the Intel updater did something. Keep us updated.
     
  13. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Thanks Tony, will give it a while and see how things work
     
  14. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    I'm afraid the pc still runs slow. No matter what app I try to open (Opera browser, virtual keyboard, Win Explorer, etc) the cursor spins for several minutes and often I have to double click again and again to get it to open.
     
  15. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,314
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Bring up your Task Manager and check the Performance tab.
    upload_2017-9-8_8-23-55.png
     
  16. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    98
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Has that Acer laptop ever run fast?
    I ask because my husband has my old Aspire-One 722 with 4GB of RAM and it is slow simply because of the CPU in it. (I'm using a newer Acer 522 and it is speedier because it is 2 years newer and has a better CPU. ) Both netbooks are running Win 7 (64bit) Home Premium with 4 GB RAM.
    With 2GB of RAM, yours would be even slower.

    Also, if you haven't used it in awhile, could updates for it be searching and downloading in the background? That takes a bite out of the CPU.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  17. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    No, it has never run fast. Although now it wont even connect to the internet. Ive given up on it. My other Acer that does run fast went down again during a session and will not reconnect to the internet even with a restart. I will try a hard boot later. Will send that one in to the tech for analysis. I am on my tablet now but it is limited. Will have my wife buy another laptop when she goes to Cagayan de Oro. Thanks for the help, take care all.
     
  18. daveleonard

    daveleonard Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    301
    Location:
    Mambajao, Philippines
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Acer Aspire
    CPU:
    See below
    Memory:
    Ditto
    Hard Drive:
    Ditto
    Graphics Card:
    Ditto
    Power Supply:
    Ditto
    Just to let all know I had both Acers reformatted and that solved all the problems. Both run great now. I also bought a new Acer Aspire E-15, very fast with tons of memory. Thanks to all.
     

Share This Page