1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

PC will not start

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by John Stenger, Nov 3, 2022.

  1. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    When I press the start button on my Dell Optiplex 780 it just makes a sound sort of like it's on a high idle, and lets out some beeps! it just continually does this, but will not load Windows and will not start! Any help would be appreciated
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,712
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    That's usually an indication of faulty RAM. If you have more than one RAM module, remove one at a time to see if you can get it to boot.

    The humidity around here has dropped which makes working in PC a little hazardous because of possible Electro Static Discharge (ESD). So be careful and wear a ground strap if you're not knowable about precautions to take when working inside a computer.

    Here's a list of Dell beep codes https://www.dell.com/support/kbdoc/...plex-and-vostro-beep-codes-and-error-messages
     
    IJAC likes this.
  3. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Thanks! I checked it again, it leaves six long beeps when turned on! I don't know if I'm reading these codes right, but it's says six beeps have something to do with the video card?
     
  4. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,271
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    It's your RAM
     
  5. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Okay thanks! I will test it as instructed!
     
  6. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    921
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Service manual as well as other links.
    https://www.ifixit.com/Device/Dell_Optiplex_780

    Note: this was new in 2009 so you can expect hardware failures to starts showing up.

    Have you installed a video card or are you using the integrated Intel graphics? (If you look at the back and see 2 places to attach a monitor then there is a graphics card. If you see only one, you are using the onboard video chip.)
     
  7. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    There is a BLUE PORT, GREEN Port, and a RED Port back there! ...but only One is for Monitor it's BLUE!
     
  8. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    921
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    optiplex780.jpg
    Red is parallel for an older printer.
    Green is serial.
    Blue is VGA for monitor.
    The port on the bottom row at the far left is a display port so you could connect a monitor using that.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2022
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  9. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Strangely enough! I turned the computer on this morning, ..and it is working again! Don't know what to think about this!
     
  10. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    921
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    That could be telling you that your video chip is on the way out - sometimes it works and sometimes it doesn't.

    If I were you, I'd have a backup plan. Get a video card to install in case you end up with a permanently black screen.
     
  11. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Yes already it's not starting again! One question some of the members earlier were commenting this might be RAM Memory Problem! I don't know which to do first? Thank You
     
  12. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    921
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    No cost to you - Test the RAM before you spend money buying something.
     
  13. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    OK I got lucky and it started normally right after removing the first Ram Bar! I guess now I order another bar from Crucial and replace it correct?
     
  14. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,712
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Seems like it's RAM. I'd put the RAM back and see what happens. If it doesn't run - replace the RAM. If it does run, reseating the RAM may have solved the problem.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  15. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home

    It's definitely the Ram! I put the bar back in, and all the beeps and fast running started, took it out! and a normal start! I guess crucial is my best bet for RAM?
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  16. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,712
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Crucial is a good source.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and IJAC like this.
  17. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Any other manufacturers? ...Crucial is telling me, they only have full packages for my Unit!
     
  18. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,712
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I usually buy from Crucial, but it's been a long time since I've bought RAM. What markings are on the RAM module you're replacing? I'm looking for the capacity (GB) and speed (DDR?, PC?)
     

    Attached Files:

    IJAC likes this.
  19. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    354
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    @Tony D Here's the Stick that is shot!
     

    Attached Files:

  20. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,712
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Nothing special about that RAM. Search for PC3 10600. Be sure to get desktop size boards. Ones made for laptops won’t physically fit. Plenty on Amazon. Your RAM is only 2GB. It may be hard to find on of that size. You may not find anything smaller than 4GB. Maybe try eBay.

    Might be a good time to upgrade to 2 ea, 4GB sticks.
     
    plodr and IJAC like this.

Share This Page