1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

PC will not bootup

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by phil peterson, Jun 13, 2014.

  1. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have Windows Vista installed on my HP, accidentally tried to upgrade to Windows 7 with software from Toshiba, and now I can't boot up. I've tried boot in Safe Mode and all the other options and still I am frozen out.

    The system goes to the "Windows in starting" stage and freezes.

    I've downloaded and attempted to us over 20 BootUp software options such as Boot Manager, Boot Disk, Partition Boot Manager, and so on. Nothing works.

    I have copies of Windows 7, Vista, XP and more. I have tried to boot from those as well and nothing has been successful for me.

    I am willing to re-format the harddrive, but at this point I can't even do that.

    Can anyone help me? Suggestions?

    PJ
     
  2. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Please excuse the post.

    I now see, this forum is for introductions only.

    My bad.
     
  3. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,260
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Welcome to Computer Help Forums Phil.

    I've moved your thread, no worries.

    Are you saying you tried to use a Toshiba Windows 7 upgrade disk on an HP Vista machine?

    I'm assuming it didn't complete and that's when the problem began?
     
  4. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Exactly ("use a Toshiba Windows 7 upgrade disk on an HP Vista machine?

    I'm assuming it didn't complete and that's when the problem began?")
    .

    Any suggestions on where to turn for help?
     
  5. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Have you gotten your data off or do you need to get that first before formatting the drive because at this point I would run Kill Disk to format the drive and then do a clean install of Windows 7 ( but you need a Windows 7 disk not a restore disk). http://www.killdisk.com/
     
  6. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am so desperate (teacher with an online class starting is 5 days), I will let go the data--most of which is backed up anyway.

    I will download Kill Disk and use my Windows 7 (the one NOT provided by Toshiba), and attempt the restore process.

    Thanks, you are a lifesaver !!!
     
  7. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It does not work.

    The PC will only attempt to boot (boots to a certain point and freezes), when the Toshiba Windows 7 disk is loaded. The system seems to NOT recognize the Kill Disk. The "DISK BOOT FAILURE, INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRESS ENTER" warning appears. The only way to make it go away is to insert the Toshiba W7 disk.

    There appears to be a loop here.

    Please help .
     
  8. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Have you set the dvd drive as the first boot device in the bios ? Many systems have it where a continuous tap of F12 after pressing the power button will allow you to chose to boot to the dvd drve as well.
    You do realize you install Kill Disk program to your working computer and them use it to make a bootable disk to format and partition your hard drive?
     
  9. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Yes, I did that, and also I copied Kill to a flash and changed the bios to go to flash drive only and that did not work either.
     
  10. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Here is the screenshot.
     

    Attached Files:

  11. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Desperation time:

    If I purchased a new harddrive, would that solve my problem? I really need to get my PC back.
     
  12. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Many pcs will not boot to a flash drive but when they won't boot to a cd then we ave to consider the cd drive may be no good either.
    It sounds like a new hard drive would fix it but I would love it if first you had another cd drive to try as it still could be that.
     
  13. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have two CD drives and I have tried booting from both.
     
  14. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,260
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I think before I would do anything else, I would strap the hard drive
    to a working desktop and run Kill Disk on the hard drive from there.
     
  15. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Just one more thought had you tried to use the original Vista disk or restore from a Recovery Partition if there is one?
     
  16. phil peterson

    phil peterson Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2014
    Messages:
    10
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Yes, I have tried using Vista (+ Windows 95, Me, etc.).

    I am about to strap out the HD to another working PC.
     
  17. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Good we will be watching...
     

Share This Page