1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

PC gradually losing ability to boot (not a new PC)

Discussion in 'BSOD, App Crashes and Hangs' started by dragonite, Jul 26, 2021.

  1. dragonite

    dragonite

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hello all!

    So i've been having this issue the last 6 months starting out as occasional failure of the PC to boot, here it would power up (gpu/pc fans and all lights running) but show no display or mouse/keyboard startup. All usb ports have power as well as my xbox controller can actively charge on all of them. Now this is gradually becoming worse, maybe at first once every 3 boot attempts or so to last week were i had to actively restart the computer over 30 times to get it to start. Key to this is that once the system is started, no instability/lag or overheating is observed. For all that I know, the system works like a charm once its booted. However, its gotten to a point were it cannot be booted at all.


    System:
    GTX1060 (6gb)
    Ryzen 2500X
    Corsair vengeance 8gb DDR4 (2x)
    Abko Mighty PSU (500W)
    Motherboard: ??? (I actually have no idea, i cannot find any marking on the actual motherboard and obiously I cannot check in PC)


    I have tried:
    Removing RAM (actually booting without RAM does not make a beeping sound
    Moving RAM to other color matched slots
    Booting with a single RAM stick
    Resetting cmos by removing battery -> also placed another 3V battery in with no success
    unplugging and plugging in all cables on the motherboard (except for a big 24-pin in the center of the MB)

    Does anyone have any idea?
    I can provide pictures if necassary (on short notice)

    Thanks in advance!
    Marco
     
  2. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    916
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    . If the board has a graphics chip, remove the card and use the onboard display. What happens?
     
  3. dragonite

    dragonite

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Alright I just tried this and no display or keyboard turning on.
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,709
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    You shouldn't remove a graphics chip, if that's even possible. What Plodr meant to say is if you have a graphics card and you have on-board video capability, remove the graphics card and connect your monitor to the onboard video port.

    Take a look at the board and check for puffy capacitors.
     
    plodr and IJAC like this.
  5. dragonite

    dragonite

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Thanks for the clarification. I did now remove the gpu and plugged the hdmi into the motherboard slots, started the PC and again no response. Also, i did not manage to find any capacitors that looked puffy or structurally damaged.

    Marco
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    1,444
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Unless you have a monitor problem, then the issue will be with the motherboard or CPU. Of those 2, the motherboard is FAR more likely.
     
    IJAC, allheart55 (Cindy E) and Tony D like this.
  7. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,271
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I agree with Seth, I believe the motherboard is toast.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  8. dragonite

    dragonite

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Thanks for your responses. Ive since been able to try out another PSU and GPU without succes. Also, ive gotten my hands on a multimeter and checked the cmos battery which was good. Also since I tried a decent amount of RAM configurations (single sticks in different slots) I find it unlikely that RAM is the cause. So i've followed your advice and bought a new motherboard which is arriving today. Lets hope for the best :)
    -Marco
     
  9. 8_Ball

    8_Ball Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    There is no Ryzen 2500x and there are no Ryzen boards with onboard GPU capability - generally motherboards with on-chip video capabilty dissapeared around 2004. What you have now are some CPU's with iGPU and the motherboard outputs adhere to that standard with outputs to produce that signal. Did you mean Ryzen 3500x or 3300x? Both of those would not have iGPU or APU capability.
     
  10. dragonite

    dragonite

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    You're right, 2500X was a typo I have a 2600X. No integrated graphics indeed. But my new motherboard works! I'm back in the system, only sometimes the PC does not recognize 1 stick of RAM... So ill be trying to run memtest86 to check for RAM failure. At least this mobo has LED light to indicate specific component failure, might come in handy for future problems. Ill also be resetting windows and reinstalling drivers manually, hopefully the RAM is still ok.
    Thanks for your suggestions!
     
  11. dragonite

    dragonite

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I reseated the cpu and the RAM issue also seems to be fixed.
     
    8_Ball and IJAC like this.
  12. 8_Ball

    8_Ball Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    59
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Very good reseating can actually solve a lot of issues.
     
  13. dragonite

    dragonite

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2021
    Messages:
    7
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Yeah it was the first time installing a cpu so I tightened the cpu cooler screws in sequence which probably tilted the cooler somewhat. All is good now!
    Again, thanks for your suggestions.
    ~Marco
     

Share This Page