1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

PC fails to start on first attempt

Discussion in 'Power Supply - PSU' started by Rub8322, May 25, 2009.

  1. Rub8322

    Rub8322 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    thanks for the help, i did everything you mentioned and it looks like the pc is starting up faster and also shutting down faster than before. thanks a lot. I would like to ask you something else, in which it is related to this topic, i have noticed that sometimes when i push the turn on button to start up the computer it turns on all the fans and the light that shows the computer is actually on but it just stays on with all the fans running mad crazy and since i see that it doesnt go any where else but stay that way for as long as it wants, then i hold the same button for a few secs and it lights up the mouse and keyboard, which means the computer is going to start up normal. i would describe it like a freeze up in the beginning of the turning up process. what could be causing this, any idea?
     
  2. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    My off hand guess is that it is a hardware issue but we really need more information. Does anything appear on the screen at all or is it just the fans running?

    Do you hear any beeping sounds at all during this process?
     
  3. Rub8322

    Rub8322 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    nothing at all appears on the screen, when i turn on the computer the screen, mouse or keyboard doesnt turn on, not even the computer turns on correctly. usually when i turn on the computer, when i push the turn on button it is suppose to run the fans really fast at first then they slow down and the screen and everything else turns on, but during this freezing stage nothing turns on but the fans and the idle light, the light that shows the computer is running stays lid without blinking, and thats when i just go ahead and push/hold the same button for a few seconds and what this does is restarts it again..and this is when it goes back to normal. i have to do this 1 out of 3 times i turn on the pc. also, no beeping sounds during this process.
     
  4. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    Clearly we can rule out any software of operating system problems because it never gets that far. The problem lies somewhere between the switch itself, the power suppy (PSU) and the bios.

    The fans will start up at full speed until the bios takes over. If it were the bios itself or the motherboard, you should hear some sort of beep code. I will ask one of our hardware specialists to make some suggestions but there may be a bit of trial and error involved.
     
  5. DirtyPolo

    DirtyPolo Inactive Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2009
    Messages:
    640
    Location:
    Malvern, England
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P5K Premium Black Pearl
    CPU:
    Intel Q6600 @ 3.3GHz
    Memory:
    2GB OCZ Reaper + 4GB Crucial Ballistix
    Graphics Card:
    ATI Radeon HD6950 - Unlocked to 6970.
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    Hello Rub, do you have any of your parts overclocked, such as graphics card or processor? As that can sometimes lead to hanging boot ups and such
     
  6. Rub8322

    Rub8322 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    im not sure if i have the graphic card overclocked, is there a way i can know this...somewhere in control panel or such. thanks
     
  7. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    Hi Rub,

    Overclocking is a means of running certain components at a higher rate of speed speed than intended by the maker. It is normally something that is done deliberately by the end user and accomplished mainly through bios changes.

    It is not something that just happens (normally) and if not done properly can have unwanted effects.

    If you don't know if you are overclocking then odds are that you are not.

    Saying that, if you built this PC yourself or had it built, there is a possibility that the bios has been set to overclock, do you experience any problems while you are running. By that I mean either excessive fan speeds or unaccounted for shut downs? (Basically things that you would not associate with software glitches.)
     
  8. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    Hi,

    Can you unplug all external devices that are not needed such as a printer and any USB devices.
    Is your keyboard USB or PS2 (if its a USB Keyboard using a PS2 adapter plug, please tell us)
    Can you now try and boot and see what happens.

    Its definately something hardware as the PC is not even getting to windows, I would suggest popping the CMOS, but as you do not know what settings your BIOS is meant to be at you will Lose all your settings.

    Can you enter the BIOS at all? there is normally a prompt when you turn on the PC such as press DEL to enter BIOS - or is the PC not even showing the post screen (white BIOS info)
     
  9. Rub8322

    Rub8322 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    i can definitely enter the bios screen, but only when i restart the computer after it freezes by holding the turn on/off button
     
  10. BeeCeeBee

    BeeCeeBee ADMINISTRATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2009
    Messages:
    7,201
    Location:
    New Jersey "Stronger than the Storm"
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    Dalo will be back in a little over 3 hours and since he agrees that it is a hardware issue you would be well advised to wait for him.
     
  11. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    Rub,

    So it freezes within windows, so then you do a hard reboot (holding the power button down)
    you can then get into the BIOS, you are still using a method to get into windows or it would not freeze?
    so what are you doing differently - is it the first time you turn the PC on all is ok and then it freezes after a while?

    I need to know exactly whats going on as I could tell you to try all sorts, but its mostly not needed if we can narrow it down.

    You also mentioned that sometimes the fans come on at full speed and stay on at full speed and that other times the fans come on full speed and then quiten down.
    When do they quiten down? Windows or BIOS
    When do they not quiten down? Windows or BIOS
     
  12. Rub8322

    Rub8322 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Re: desktop takes a while to shut down

    im not sure whether it freezes, when i try to turn on the pc for the first time all fans including processor turn on like every computer does, they all go on at a high speed for a few secs then they slow down as the pc goes into windows, but i dont get into windows, the fans just stay at a fast speed until i do a hard reboot. when i do a hard reboot, it goes back to normal..but there are times when not even one hard reboot works, i have to do several of them until it works. it never freezes once it goes into windows.
     
  13. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    Do you have the first boot device set to HDD and the others disabled?
    it sounds to me like your BIOS is trying to find a CDROM or floppy device or any other boot device USB stick for example and when it cant it hangs.
     
  14. Rub8322

    Rub8322 Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    i wouldnt be able to tell you if i do have a first boot device set to HDD, i am not familiar at all with those things. what is a HDD and a boot device lol
     
  15. Dalo Harkin

    Dalo Harkin Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,820
    Location:
    Stockport near Manchester
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS - are there any others worth buying?
    CPU:
    Q6600 at 4.0Ghz per core (Watercooled)
    Memory:
    OCZ PC8500 4x1GB sticks
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung - all the way
    Graphics Card:
    XFX 260GTX rev 1
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 600Watt
    Right - when the BIOS loads it searches for normally in this order:-
    Floppy drive
    CDROM / DVDRW
    HDD (Hard drive)

    When you need to reinstall an OS you need to have the first BOOT device (the device that first gets initiated) as HDD
     
  16. tom369

    tom369

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    I have just come across this old post and wonder if anyone can help me because I have the same problem.

    When turning the computer on in the morning it doesn't boot up. The fan is whirring and the floppy drive light is lit but the light next to the 'On' button is not lit up. I can get it to boot up by either turning the electric on and off repeatedly (had to do this 40 times the other day) or leaving it switched on for 5 or 10 minutes then rebooting. So it seems to boot up more easily when warmed up.

    I have bought a new battery and have bought a new hard drive but the booting up problem persists. Once it does boot up it runs smoothly all day without further problem.

    I can’t see any lights on at the back of the computer - only at the front next to the 'on' button and also one by the floppy drive. The floppy drive light is solid and does not flash.

    There are no CD’s/DVD’s in use or USB’s connected.

    The connection lead seems fine as power is getting through.

    I was wondering if there might be a problem with the bios but am not well up on such things.

    The computer is a Fujitsu Scaleo L

    CPU Type AMD Athlon XP, 1917 MHz (11.5 x 167) 2600+

    Can anyone give me an idea as to what the fault is please? Many thanks
     
  17. Plastic Nev

    Plastic Nev SUPER MODERATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Location:
    In front of a monitor in Blackburn Lanc's UK.
    Operating System:
    Windows 7

Share This Page