1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

[Solved] Out of memory?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Bob Savage, Jul 25, 2016.

  1. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hey there. I have a self built pc. The original build was made back in 2013 and it was a solid running computer. Since then I have put some new hardware on and additional software here and there like in normal use but I've been having some real problems as of late.

    The original build was on a
    Asus P8Z77-VPro motherboard
    Intel i5-3570 CPU @ 3.40GHz
    Nivida GTX 650 GPU
    2× 4GB DDR3-1600 Elpida ram
    64bit windows 7 home prem.

    The PC ran great and I was able to play my demanding games. I later added a AMD Radeon R9 270x and two PNY 8GB ram cards. I stared having problems with all my games. After about an hour of play the game would crash saying out of memory so I decided to go back to what worked and I still am having the same problems. I've tried researching the problem but none of the fixes have worked for me. So please help I need my PC back to a good working condition.

    Error is as follows:
    "The instruction at 0x005eb22a referenced memory at 0x00000954. The memory could not be read."
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2016
  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi Bob and welcome to Computer Help Forums.
    The 2 PNY 8 GIG ram sticks. What speed are they?
    Increase your virtual memory.
    Check in Bios and see what the Bios is reading memory/speed.
    Check with Mobo manufacturer what amount and speed is allowed.
    Is this Rig O/Clocked?
     
  3. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    The PNY ram sticks are 1800 i beleive.

    I have tried increasing the virtual memory with both the auto settings and a manual one as well. Same results.

    Don't have Bios in front of me right now but I can see.

    And I never OC anything on my rig. I've never felt the need to.
     
  4. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Ram specs for your motherboard.

    4 x DIMM, Max. 32GB, DDR3 2600(O.C.)/2400(O.C.)/2200(O.C.)/2133(O.C.)/2000(O.C.)/1866(O.C.)/1800(O.C.)/1600/1333 MHz Non-ECC, Un-buffered Memory

    You really need to enter the Bios and check what it is recognizing.
     
  5. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Bios says total memory is 16384 MB (DDR3 1372MHz)
     
  6. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Have you the latest drivers for your R9 270x? Bob.
     
  7. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Yep. I keep all my drivers up to date. Check once a week.
     
  8. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    HI Bob, How about putting the Nvidia card back in to test?
     
  9. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I did put the old Nivida back in and tried it with both the old ram cards and new ones as well. Did not fix the issue sadly.
     
  10. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Can you give us your 12v, 5v and 3.3v rail readings in the Bios,Please.
     
  11. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    12v-12.096v
    5v-5.080v
    3.3v-3.376v
     
  12. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    That eliminates that possibility.
    What happens if you drop the frame rate?
     
  13. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have tried a few games on their lowest settings from Minecraft to Arma 3 and tho the less taxing games would last longer before a crash the higher end games seen no improvement.
     
  14. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I have been researching this issue as I am not a big Gamer. Sorry.
    I read where many have fixed this issue by Installing Java 64 bit, Java 32bit their games keep crashing.
    Others say they fixed it by changing the render distance from far to normal.
    Better CPU uses less memory. I run i7 CPU's.
    After 3 yrs fresh heatsink paste wouldn't hurt.
     
  15. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Java reinstall didnt work and the distance was tested with the lowering of all the settings. Still having memory crash.
     
  16. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It's been 37mins since I posted and your reply.
    You said the games crashed after one hour.
    How did you have time to test fully in 37mins.?
    I also suggested fresh heatsink paste.
     
  17. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    It doesnt crash at exactly one hour every time. Some times it is more frequent than others. In this case it took about 25 min before I had a crash.
     
  18. Rustys

    Rustys Adviser CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    What is installed hardware wise in the system right now?

    What is the wattage of the PSU?

    Have you tried running the system off the on-board video? Does that make a difference you may need to install the drivers do it.

    Does this happen only while gaming?

    Does this happen when in Safe mode or Safe mode with networking?

    Right click on Computer form the Start Menu and select Properties.
    Look under System and what does it state for the RAM?
     
  19. Bob Savage

    Bob Savage Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Update:
    After reading about a few other similar cases I went ahead and wiped my hard drive completely clean. Reinstalled windows and drivers for all my hardware and updated all. Downloaded steam and two games and made sure each had no file location errors. Launched one game and killed all unnecessary processes. After about 10 seconds the game crashed saying unable to locate memory. Tried again in several different configurations with the same results. The games now crash much faster than before.
     
  20. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Try the other matching ram slots/colour, and tell us what happens time wise.
     

Share This Page