1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Optical drive suddenly stopped working

Discussion in 'DVD/CDROM Drives' started by umar, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    I use it rarely. I used it 1 or 2 month ago last time. It was working fine.

    When i put a cd or dvd in it, nothing happens.

    When i click on open, it ejects optical drive. Please check attached file.

    I have uninstalled driver. I restarted laptop and driver was automatically re installed by windows.

    I think new dvd that i inserted might have damaged optical drive.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,061
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
  3. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    I tried tool given by you. Please check attached file for result.

    It has not fully failed. I am able to run only 1 cd. But Dvd drive took time to detect it. Most are not working.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Plastic Nev

    Plastic Nev SUPER MODERATOR IN MEMORY

    Joined:
    May 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,801
    Location:
    In front of a monitor in Blackburn Lanc's UK.
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    You could try a CD/DVD head cleaner disk, through little use it might have a build up of dust on the read/write head lenses.

    Nev.
     
  5. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    I have tried to cleaned the lens with cotton swab but problem still persists. Should i try nail polish remover?

    Another cd worked.
     
  6. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    It is working better now and detecting all cds.

    It spins a lot and as a result gives noise. Is it normal?
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2015
  7. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,061
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    No, it shouldn't really be making a lot of noise. I wouldn't use nail polish remover but alcohol should be fine with Q-tips.

    Have you installed or uninstalled any programs recently that could have caused this. What OS are you using?
     
  8. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    OS is Windows 7 Ultimate. No, i did not install or uninstall any programs recently. I use a only a few programs like MS office and Photoshop.
     
  9. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,061
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Are you trying to use a blank DVD or one that is already burnt, such as a movie or a data disk?
     
  10. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    These are movie, games, data cds. Most are cds. I have only 1 Dvd that i bought today. Problem occurred after i inserted that dvd.
     
  11. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,061
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Was the DVD a movie?
     
  12. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    It is windows 8 professional dvd.
     
  13. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,061
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Were you trying to boot from it and it wasn't recognized?
     
  14. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    No i inserted it when i was using windows 7. I wanted to check if it is ok. I bought it to install windows 8 on my cousin's laptop.
     
  15. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    You do know that a cd and a dvd use different lasers? I wouldn't use any liquids on these drive and they are really inexpensive and don't last long. I would run only a dry cleaning disk in these and if you are hearing noise running a dvd it is time to replace it because it will destroy your disks sooner or later. It's very easy to replace.
     
  16. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,061
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    If it's a slot drive instead of a tray drive, it's not that simple.
     
  17. Rich M

    Rich M Guest

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    4,580
    Location:
    NE Pa USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    MSI Z97 PC Mate LGA 1150 Intel Z97
    CPU:
    Intel i7 4790K 4.0Ghz
    Memory:
    Corsair Vengeance 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133
    Hard Drive:
    Crucial 256 Gb SSD+ WD Raptor 300 Gb Sata III
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R9 280 2GB HDMI
    Power Supply:
    Seasonic 750 watt
    Agreed.
     
  18. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    I tried to boot a windows xp cd. It did. It loaded files but when it reached at "Setup is starting Windows", it stuck there.

    It looks like a hardware issue. It has not totally failed. It is slow to read or not reading properly.
     
  19. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi umar.
    Windows may have problems reading sectors on your HDD.
    I would run chkdsk from command prompt.
    chkdsk c:/r space before forward slash.
     
  20. umar

    umar Owner Administrator

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2014
    Messages:
    445
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    HP ProBook 4540s
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i5
    HDD is ok. It is optical drive that either did not copy files correctly or skipped some files.
     

Share This Page