1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Not booting or shuting down properly - Corrupted BIOS or motherboard?!

Discussion in 'BSOD, App Crashes and Hangs' started by User7, Aug 12, 2016.

  1. User7

    User7 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hello fellas,

    I have a problem with my Asus F55A-SX172DU (used for programming and university) + Windows 10 .

    A few months ago it started to show me a black screen while booting after the windows logo.

    After a couple restarts the machine could boot again (sometimes I had to restart 10+ times).

    I started worrying when I noticed that the black screen appears also sometimes while shuting down the machine (had to push the power button then).

    The issue kept appearing after reinstalling Windows 10.

    Windows 8.1, same issue.

    So I thought that my HDD is corrupted and replaced it. Same problem kept appearing.

    When I used my Linux Mint Live-DVD to boot, I noticed while shuting down, that the bs also appears and I had to push the powerbutton again.

    So now I can say that its is not a software issue nor hardware problem on the HDD.

    The only thing that I could explain to my self is that there is something wrong with the BIOS or the motherboard.

    I really want to fix that machine and would be very thanful for helpful advice.

    Thank you very much in advance for your answer.



    -User7
     
  2. Bill

    Bill Registered Members

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Location:
    Southeastern US
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V
    CPU:
    Intel i5 3570
    Memory:
    8GB Kingston DDR3 1600
    Hard Drive:
    Plextor SSD SATA 6 128 GB, WD Velociraptor 150g
    Graphics Card:
    eVGA GTX 550 TI
    Power Supply:
    Antec NeoPower 550w
    Welcome user7 to CHF. Have you tried to reset the BIOS to the default settings?
     
  3. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Greetings User7 welcome to the site.

    Have you ran any test on the RAM to see if that can be the issue?

    MemTest86 is one that we use and suggest.
     
  4. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi User7.
    Have you tried to boot into safe mode?
     
    Rustys likes this.
  5. User7

    User7 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Hello guys,
    thanks for your answers.
    I already tried the BIOS default settings.
    I am running memtest86+ at the moment and will post the results here when im done.
     
  6. User7

    User7 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    So I ran memtest86+ for 22 Runs now without any errors.
    I ´m able to boot into safe mode.
    Thats what is confusing me. If it would be an issue with the HW or something beneath the OS, then why would the safe mode work?
    Any further suggestions?
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
  7. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    One of the reasons a computer boots into Safe Mode OK, and not normal boot up is a corrupted device driver.

    Does "Event Viewer" give you any indication what is causing the problem?

    Another way to find the offender.

    Type "msconfig" in the search Box, then click on "msconfig.exe"
    Under startup Tab, "disable" all startup programs, "Apply" and "OK"
    Bring back one program at a time, rebooting each time till you find the culprit that's causing the startup problem.
    Slow going I know.
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2016
    gus likes this.
  8. User7

    User7 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I disabled everything from the autostart but it doesnt help.

    I should say that I use a german Windows so all logs are in german.
    There are some critical Kernel-Power logs saying the machine was reastarted.
    More interesting are the volmgr-error-logs (event-id 46) saying that the initalization of the memory map failed.

    There are also some errors with the source DistributedCOM or Service Control Manager.

    Some of the first logs in my history are some logs from the DeviceSetupManager.
    For example (I translate it as good as possible):
    "Error while driver installation. Result=0x8007001F for devnode -"PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_0156&SUBSYS_14C71043&REV_09\3&11583659&0&10" " OR
    "The access to drivers on windows update were blocked due to guidelines"
     
  9. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    What devices are hooked up to this PC? Printer?
    One of the errors says a device hooked up to the system is malfunctioning.
     
  10. User7

    User7 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    None.
    It has a internal DVD drive (empty) the trackpad and a sd-reader (empty).

    Correct me if im wrong but the fact that it isnt shuting down properly even when I use a linux live dvd, lets me think that the issue is beneath the OS.
     
  11. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Sorry I have run out of possible answers. What I find confusing it boots into Safe mode OK and wont boot properly even with all software disabled which to me only leaves a corrupted Windows service.
    Hope someone else has a clue of what is causing your problem.
     
  12. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,709
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    MEMTEST, although a good app, doesn't always find bad RAM.

    If you have more than one RAM module installed, try running with just one. If you still have problems, try running with just the other.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  13. gijoetech1

    gijoetech1 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    219
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    try defraging the hdd only if its not a ssd
     
  14. User7

    User7 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Unluckily I dont have another RAM stick (1x 4GB).
    I already tried 2 HDD´s and a SSD, so I dont think that it is the hard drive.

    Could it be that somehow something in the BIOS were set or changed that is causing this problems?
    Could a BIOS update be a slution?
    How could I figure out if it is a corrupted motherboard?
     
  15. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am convinced this is a Hardware issue.
     
  16. User7

    User7 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I bought a brand new 1TB HDD.
    It "runs" Win 8.1 on a 200GB partition at the moment.
    It worked for some time but after a few restarts the problem occurred again.
    Now it is only bootable into safe mode.
     
  17. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Registered Members

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,270
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I would check for a Bios update. Also set BIOS defaults.

    From the errors I think I know what the issue is.
    Error says "External Device is malfunctioning"
    We have eliminated external devices hooked up the the laptop.

    External Devices can also mean any hardware in your laptop outside the motherboard.

    One of these is malfunctioning on boot and shutting down.
    Could be video, sound card, HDD, Ram, dvd optical drive, card reader (Any hardware)
    Tests would need to be run on each component to find the one that is causing the issue.
     
    Rustys and gijoetech1 like this.
  18. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    After you installed Windows on to the new drive did you install the proper Drivers for the hardware that is installed on the system? Where did the drivers come form?

    Did you use a factory restore or OEM disk to install the OS? Did you remember to install the Chipset first then the other drivers and in (some systems require) the proper order?

    This is showing a bad install of the Video driver for the Intel HD Graphics. It may be using a generic driver that may not be totally compatible.
     
    DSTM (Dougie) likes this.
  19. Rustys

    Rustys Registered Members

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,656
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Hard Drive:
    Yes
    Graphics Card:
    4 D
    Power Supply:
    Solar
    Mine will do this for some odd reason even Ubuntu and Zorin have. What are the chances that your DVD drive may be going? If the Lens is dirty or starting to go it may not be reading the install software correctly.

    May need to replace the DVD drive or use a laser lens cleaning disk to clean the debris off.

    Also have a look at the disk you are using make sure there are not to many scratched, dust, and finger smudges.
     
  20. gijoetech1

    gijoetech1 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    219
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    well i can suggest ,to avoid all this issue with the dvd or the windows copy ,what you could do is download a the correct windows 10 version,
    install it to a bootable USB using a windows tool and install the os in that manner try that way le us know
     

Share This Page