1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

No POST with SSD installed

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Tony D, Nov 19, 2019.

  1. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I'm working on a Lenovo ThinkPad X260.

    It doesn't complete POST. It gets stuck at the Lenovo logo on screen and “To interrupt normal startup, press Enter”.

    Turns out the SSD is defective (I will talk about that shortly). If I remove the SSD, it POSTs then tries to boot from a network. There's no network so that's not going to happen. I put in a hard drive from another machine and the Lenovo booted to it. So there's something wrong with the SSD.

    My on-line search found others with the same problem with Lenovo machines and this Intel SSD Pro 5400s. It was manufactured Feb 2017. I don't know how to update the firmware if the machine won't even boot with the drive connected.

    Lenovo tech support is useless. The machine is under warranty so they're going to send a tech to replace the SSD. I sure would like to see if I can update the SSD so data won't be lost.

    With the SSD connected to another machine via SATA/USB adapter, it's not seen in This PC or in Disk Management.

    One more thing about this computer. In addition to the usual removal system battery, it also has a removable internal system battery. It connects to the system board via a connector (it's not soldered in place). It's also physically removable so you can get a replacement part. See here https://www.one-cable.com/original-...50ZlntIoqGnvXcMICv-U83G7auankGZhoCVd0QAvD_BwE
    First I've seen an internal battery in addition to an external battery.
     
  2. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    957
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    On a no boot situation with a sdd, the first thing I do is disable secure boot and enable legacy boot. Although since you tried the ssd in another computer and it doesn't show up in DM, then ya, it's probably defective. Does it show in the bios? Can you try a direct sata connection with the ssd?

    For the battery thing, I've never heard of or seen a laptop that doesn't have a cmos battery.
     
  3. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Can't get into the BIOS because it doesn't POST with the SSD installed.
    Haven't tried that. If it doesn't work with the SATA/USB adapter and if the machine won't boot with it connected, it's probably toast. But with your suggestion, I may try that later on.
    It's not a CMOS battery, although it probably powers the CMOS also because I didn't find the CR2032. Look at the size of that battery in the link. 2060 mAh!

    When I first got this Lenovo, I pulled the main battery and removed the AC adapter expecting to hold the Power button to drain any charge left in the machine. To my surprise the machine started up. It didn't POST but it did start. It shouldn't do that if the main battery and AC adapter are removed. I had to see what was inside this laptop. Found a large battery.
     
  4. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    957
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    I misread your post. I've never seen a battery system like that either.

    The cmos battery is under that internal battery:

     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,347
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    That's the machine. And how about that. There is even a CMOS battery. I assumed that big battery also powered the CMOS.
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    957
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
  7. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    And I thought Ford had a better idea. :)
     

Share This Page