1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

New AMD Threadripper build - Ram Question

Discussion in 'Memory - RAM' started by liberty610, Aug 12, 2017.

  1. liberty610

    liberty610 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Pa - USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-X99-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6800K
    Memory:
    G.Skill Ripjaws 4 series 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2
    Graphics Card:
    MSI GTX 1080
    Power Supply:
    Corsair Professional 750W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply
    Hey guys, I am hoping someone can help me out here.

    I am currently awaiting the last parts of my Threadripper build to get here. I am curious about the new ram I just reprieved today, and I am wondering if it will make a huge difference if it is no longer on my new board's support list.

    I know in most cases Ram on a support list doesn't mean much, as most ram will work without a hiccup as long as it's the right type. I am using a Gigabyte Aorus x399 gaming 7 motherboard for this build, and on Gigabyte's site they have supported ram at the following:

    DDR4 3600+(O.C.)/ 3466(O.C.)/ 3333(O.C.)/ 3200(O.C.)/ 2933(O.C.)/ 2667/ 2400/ 2133

    Here is the motherboard specification page:
    https://www.gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X399-AORUS-Gaming-7-rev-10#sp

    I went to the support list page for that board and went through the ram support list. I specifically copied and pasted the model number for a 32gig G. Skill ram kit from that list, and punched it into newegg.com, and placed an order for it. Here is the kit:

    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Prod..._re=F4-3200C16Q-32GTZR-_-20-232-482-_-Product

    I noticed yesterday when I was poking around online that Gigabyte took down the memory support link off their page. I thought that was kind of odd. So this morning, the ram kit gets delivered, and I decided to go back to the site and see if the list was there today. It was., so I downloaded it, and my kit along with a few others I looked up are no longer on the support list.

    The motherboard spec page again says it supports DDR4 3600+(O.C.)/ 3466(O.C.)/ 3333(O.C.)/ 3200(O.C.)/ 2933(O.C.)/ 2667/ 2400/ 2133. The kit I got today is DDR4 3200 (PC4 256000). Is this going to be an issue? I am some what new to DDR4 ram. I usually just pick a kit of the support list and run with it, but now that I am seeing different numbers for my new setup, I want to know a little more about this and if this is going to be an issue. I have not overclocked any ram or CPU before, but apparently my new board supports XMP. I read enough about XMP for my current build to turn it on, but I am still unsure on how it works, and I am looking to learn as much as I can. I have been doing google searches and videos on YT, but I am lost as if this current kit that is no longer on the support list is going to work.

    Thanks in advance for any help!
     
  2. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,109
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Just enable XMP in bios and you should be good to go with that speed Ram.
    If you don't, then only 2667/ 2400/ 2133 speed Ram will work.
    That's how I am reading it.
    The Ram your buying would have to have an XMP Profile as well.
    Then make sure your new Ram is reaching it's advertised speeds with a program like hwmonitor.

    http://www.cpuid.com/softwares/hwmonitor.html
     
  3. liberty610

    liberty610 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Pa - USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-X99-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6800K
    Memory:
    G.Skill Ripjaws 4 series 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2
    Graphics Card:
    MSI GTX 1080
    Power Supply:
    Corsair Professional 750W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply
    I have hardware monitor already, so that'll help. Thanks for the reply, as always Dougie. Hopefully I don't have at issues. I'm not sure if that team has an xmp profile or not. All it says on the box is Intel ready?
     
  4. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,109
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    This Ram has full XMP 2.0 Profile Support, so I can't see any problems.
     
  5. liberty610

    liberty610 Registered Members

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Location:
    Pa - USA
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-X99-Ultra Gaming
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-6800K
    Memory:
    G.Skill Ripjaws 4 series 32GB (4 x 8GB)
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung 950 PRO 512GB M.2
    Graphics Card:
    MSI GTX 1080
    Power Supply:
    Corsair Professional 750W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply
    Thanks again Dougie. I got confused over this, because on another forum I was told XMP only works on Intel processors, but that didn't make any since to me because my motherboard is an AMD board that offers XMP in the BIOS. I have tried looking up info on the topic, but with Threadripper still being new, I couldn't find much.
     
  6. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,109
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I can't see how this Ram's XMP Profile, would not work with AMD, if your motherboard, as you say offers XMP in the Bios. Means your Motherboard has the ability to read XMP Profiles.
    As you know,not all AMD motherboard Bios's offer XMP.
    I think your pretty safe to purchase this Ram.
    This is all a learning curve, because all the desired information is not readily available yet.
     

Share This Page