1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Need help, stressed out. No start up.

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous Hardware' started by Dreamtheory, Jul 18, 2019.

  1. Dreamtheory

    Dreamtheory

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270P-D3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Memory:
    16 GB DDR4
    Hard Drive:
    250GB Samsung SSD x2 | 4TB HD | 1TB HD
    Graphics Card:
    Asus GeForce GTX 1070 Ti
    Power Supply:
    Thermaletake 850W
    My computer will not start up.

    So here is what happened...
    I have a CyberPower 650va Surge Protecter that my Computer, 2 monitors, A fan, and nanoleaf lights are hooked up to. The Nanoleaf lights and the fan were off. I plugged in a vacuum to clean and instantly when turning the vacuum on, the computer shut off. (It wasn't the first time the power supply freaked out and shut down my computer, its happened 4 or 5 times in past 3 years).

    After vacuuming I tried to turn the computer on, but it wouldn't this time. Everything else plugged into the CyberPower Surge Protector still works fine. I switched all the plugs into different sockets, Still nothing. (yes I tried plugging it directly into the wall socket too). So I figured I blew the power supply. Went to fry's and bought a new one, But yet still nothing.

    NOTE: A small light on the GPU still comes on, even before switching out the power supply. But that's the only light I see. There are no sounds from start up, No movement in the fans, nothing.

    What can I do to figure out the problem? I'm a recently graduated student trying to get a job in the video game industry and now can not access or work on my portfolio pieces. So any and all help is ridiculously appreciated as I'm currently having the worst couple of months, barely getting by, and now this and im out of money after buying the power supply.

    Windows 10
    PSU - ThermaleTake 850w
    CPU - i7 6700
    GPU - Asus GeForce GTX 1070 Ti
    MB- Gigabyte GA-Z270P-D3
    RAM - 16GB Corsair DDR4
    SSD - Samsung 250 GB (Windows installed here)
    SSD - Samsung 500 GB
    HD - 1TB
    HD - 4TB
     
  2. Dreamtheory

    Dreamtheory

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Gigabyte GA-Z270P-D3
    CPU:
    Intel i7 6700k
    Memory:
    16 GB DDR4
    Hard Drive:
    250GB Samsung SSD x2 | 4TB HD | 1TB HD
    Graphics Card:
    Asus GeForce GTX 1070 Ti
    Power Supply:
    Thermaletake 850W
    SOLVED: The initial problem was the power supply. My problem I found after posting this was that one cable from the new PSU wasn't 100% plugged in therefore resulting in not starting up. I'm good to go and my stress has been reduced
     
  3. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,007
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Welcome to Computer Help Forums, Dreamtheory.
    Thanks for letting us know.
     
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,252
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Yes, welcome. Do you think the vibration from the vacuum shook the not-fully-seated connector loose?
     
  5. 8_Ball

    8_Ball Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2019
    Messages:
    29
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    That could have very likely been the case more than a few times I jimmied the cord from one of my units while vacuuming but usually it was when I plugged it in or managing the vacuum cord while vacuuming that shook the PC-PSU cord loose.
     

Share This Page