1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Multiple displays in classroom

Discussion in 'Monitor' started by wingedoak, Aug 12, 2017 at 11:07 AM.

  1. wingedoak

    wingedoak

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I am a teacher with a large classroom. The room us very narrow, but long. Consequently, I inevitably have students in the back that can't see. To get around this problem, I am trying to have both a front-of-room and back-of-room display.

    My main computer connects to a projector. I currently splice those so that I drag what I want to display over to the projector screen.

    I have a 2nd computer in the back of the room, connected to a Promethean board. I would like to set it up so that whatever is showing up on my projector screen, also shows on that 2nd computer, and therefore the Promethean.

    Any ideas of how I could accomplish this?

    We use Windows 7/10 if that factors in.

    Thank you!!!
     
  2. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    When faced with your situation, I had students simply turn the desks to face the side rather than the front of the room. (I taught math(s) in the days when everything was done on a chalkboard. So everyone had to see equations and problems I was writing.

    If you had 3 row with 12 deep, you now have 12 rows with 3 deep.
     
  3. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,955
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Hi, and welcome to Computer Help Forums. I have no experience in doing what you are trying to do.
    My guess all this would have to be done from one Computer, with two monitors.
    I can't see how you could sync two Computers to do this.
     
  4. wingedoak

    wingedoak

    Joined:
    Saturday
    Messages:
    2
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    I thought about facing the students the long way, and had other teachers help me see if it would work, but it won't. The two problems being 1) it is a science room and the lab stations run against the long walls, and 2) the narrowness of the room means that most of the people on front row would then not be able to see the display.
     
  5. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,114
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Have to agree with Dougie here.
    This seems the logical way.
    I run 3 monitors from one system..... I can set the monitors to all show the same or I can put different things on each screen.
     
    DSTM (Dougie) likes this.
  6. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,955
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  7. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    62
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Just a word of caution, if you go with 2 or 3 displays, lock the connections so students won't remove the plugs and run the wires overhead so no one will trip over cables, get injured and sue you and/or the school.

    In the days when mice had rubber balls, our students used to steal the rubber balls. So you ended up with computers and no working mice.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.

Share This Page