1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

Mouse issue, so annoying.

Discussion in 'Windows 10' started by Tony Loly, Jan 3, 2023.

  1. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Am having problems with controlling my mouse. It flickers on & off & moves the page without being asked, has a mind of its own!
    It is wireless on my HP desktop PC running windows 11. I have tried another mouse but the issue remains so think it is not a hardware issue. Only had issue since windows 11, 10 seemed ok.
    Have had this problem on two previous occasions.............
    https://computerhelpforums.com/threads/mouse-problem.54662/
    Can anyone offer advice please?
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,742
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Is this also a wireless mouse? If it is, try a wired mouse.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  3. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Tony.
    No I dont have a wired mouse, can you still buy them?
    I think it is actually a Windows 11 problem. Someone said go back to 10 but dont begin to know how to do that.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2023
  4. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    940
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Tony, your posts are contradictory. In your first post you said
    then in your 2nd post above mine you said
    So which is it?
     
  5. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Sorry, should read " I dont have a wired mouse ".
    Have edited it now.

    Thanks for spotting my silly error!!
     
  6. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    It could be very possible it is a driver issue. Yes you can still buy a wired mouse that are pretty cheap.
     
  7. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    I have had the same issue with a wireless mouse and Windows 11 on two laptops and a desktop running Windows 11.
    I reverted back to Win 10 on the desktop and one laptop.
    The other laptop I had to purchase a wired mouse for as it came with Win 11 and the option to revert wasn't there.
     
    plodr and IJAC like this.
  8. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    To roll back to 10, open Settings - System - Recovery - Click on Go Back.
    Skip the update check, follow the on screen direction and go back to Windows 10.
    It takes several minutes to revert back to 10.
     
    Tony D, plodr and IJAC like this.
  9. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Have bought a wired mouse & it seems ok at the moment but then some days the wireless one does too. Can I request that the thread remains open for a few days to see how I get on with this wired mouse & then take action as necessary?
    Thanks for instructions on going back to windows 10. Should I eventually need to do this can I ask what, if any, are the downsides?
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  10. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,742
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    No worries. We can leave the thread open.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and IJAC like this.
  11. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  12. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Ok so I have given it a week using the wired mouse. At first all seemed well but now it is reacting just like the two wireless ones.
    Not sure what this tells me?
    Help please.
     
  13. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,742
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Interesting it is. What kind of a surface are you using with the mouse? They don't like shinny surfaces.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  14. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I don’t think it is a problem with the surface which is a matt black leather desk top.
    Some times just by restarting the pc it behaves itself again.
     
  15. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    This really is getting frustrating now. For instance I was drafting an email yesterday when the page just changed to something else for no reason. Obviously the " rogue " mouse had decided to click on something. Had to restart the email, three times !
    Tried to go back to windows 10 but the option is no longer their.
    Someone mentioned a driver issue but I don't know how to address that?
     
  16. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    So, it seems there is no solution.
    Can I just say thank you to those who tried to help me, much appreciated.
    Admin can close the thread now if they choose, but sadly, unresolved.
     
  17. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    741
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    Download and install a driver yourself
    1. In the search box on the taskbar, type device manager, then select Device Manager from the list of results.

    2. In the list of hardware categories, find the device that you want to update, and then double-click the device name.

    3. Click the Driver tab, click Update Driver, and then follow the instructions.
    Here is a good article on updating drivers for Logitech: https://www.systweak.com/blogs/how-to-update-logitech-mouse-driver-in-windows-10/
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  18. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks ijac for your suggestion & very clear instructions.
    I have followed them precisely but it returned a message " best drivers already installed " so as the problem persists I am running out of solutions sadly.
     
  19. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,284
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Try inserting the mouse receiver into a different USB port.
     
    IJAC likes this.
  20. Tony Loly

    Tony Loly Registered Members

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2014
    Messages:
    332
    Location:
    Solihull, West Midlands
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks Cindy but I tried that.
     

Share This Page