1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

More memory please....

Discussion in 'Memory - RAM' started by solopirate, Oct 23, 2020.

  1. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    After my last thread in the forum, "Windows 10", i was advised that
    i could possibly get some extra RAM Memory for my computer. How
    would i know what i am looking for, and where do i find the necessary
    info, not just about my specific computer, but if the RAM i already have
    installed, is the maximum it can hold? I have 4 MB installed, with a 1TB Hard Drive.
    I have about 820 MB of free space on the drive.
    If anyone can direct me, (in basic terms), to what i need and where`s the best place
    to purchase extra memory from, it would be great.
    I am using a Lenovo Laptop, and if you want me to provide more info, just tell me where
    i can find it on my pc, and i will post it, so that it can help you to help me a bit better.
    Thanks.
     

    Attached Files:

    • a1.PNG
      a1.PNG
      File size:
      5.8 KB
      Views:
      12
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,607
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    First thing you need to do is to off-load that hard drive. If indeed you have only 820 MB free of 1 TB, that's a problem. Can you post a screen shot of your hard drive properties? Here's what mine looks like.
    upload_2020-10-23_14-27-40.png
     
  3. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Sorry. I did not realize that i put MB, when it should have been GB.
     

    Attached Files:

    • a1.PNG
      a1.PNG
      File size:
      18.4 KB
      Views:
      13
  4. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,737
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Quite a simple task.

    Go to Crucial scanner


    1. First, agree to the terms and conditions.
    2. Click the "Start your free scan" button, and choose "Save File" when prompted.
    3. Save the file to your desktop, or anywhere you prefer.
    4. Navigate to this saved CrucialScan.exe file, Right click and select 'Run as Administrator'.
    If you get a security warning, click "Run" to allow the download.
    5. It will take several moments while your browser is updated with your scan results.

    When the report comes up it will tell you how much Ram memory is installed, how many modules,how many slots are used, how many are available, how much Ram memory can be installed and what type of memory you can install.
    Crucial will also give you a price for any recommended Ram upgrades, but you don't have to accept this.
    You are free to use their scanner and then buy your Ram chips from wherever you want.
     
  5. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
  6. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
  7. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,737
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    Hi again solopirate,

    You are reading that correctly.
    You only have one slot available and the max is 8GB.
    I'm not familiar with some of those makes of Ram chips, some one more qualified will be able to advise you better.
    I've always stuck with the big names like, Crucial, Kingston and HyperX.
    Don't forget though, there is a difference in size between Laptop chips and Desktop chips.
     
  8. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    That much i do know :) , that there is a difference between chips and type of computer.
    Maybe, if someone could look at the link i have included, and maybe advise me, if
    the first two chips on that page, are the ones i want?
    I am hoping to call in to Bestbuy tomorrow after my work (truck driver), and if i`m
    advised right, i will get one tomorrow.
    One last question, do you know anywhere that can give me a diagram of the inside of
    a Lenovo laptop? I need to know where to locate the old 4 GB chip and replace it.
    Many thanks for everything.
    https://www.bestbuy.com/site/search...rue&iht=y&usc=All+Categories&ks=960&keys=keys
     
  9. IJAC

    IJAC Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 8, 2017
    Messages:
    706
    Location:
    Here
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    I have a Asus prime Z270A MB
    CPU:
    Intel i5 Quad core
    Memory:
    Rip Jaw 32 GB
    Hard Drive:
    Samsung Evo 500 GB SS
    Graphics Card:
    Radeon R7 260X/360
    Power Supply:
    750 Watt Corsair
    One more thing I see you have a Celeron CPU they are not know for speed and it looks like it is only 1.10 GHz. The memory will help but I wouldn't expect to much. I looked up your CPU and it is for inexpensive laptops according to CPU world. Don't get me wrong the memory will help but those Celeron CPU's are just not as fast as the i family of Intel processors are. If it does what you want it to than that is all that matters. Not trying to bash your laptop or anything just giving you some information. I would go with the memory and see how it works for you. I have to agree with Starbuck I stick with name brand also. The ones on eBay are preowned so your are taking a chance.
     
  10. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    859
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I never buy from eBay. On the few occasions I had to buy laptop memory sticks, I bought from Crucial. They might be more expensive but they guarantee it will work and since I don't like taking apart any laptop, I only want to do it once. Take out the old stick and put in the new stick. Screw back the RAM compartment and done.

    Since you have to take the laptop apart to replace the RAM stick, you'll want a guarantee that it works.
    Here's how to take it apart


    Fortunately mine had compartment so I didn't have to remove the entire back.
     
  11. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,247
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Tony D likes this.
  12. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    ALLHEART55.
    I had bought that this morning, however, when the tech guy said he would install it for me, he
    brought it back and said, that particular memory stick was too small. He wrote the details on
    his card, which are the following...DDR3 12800MZ PC3. I really have no idea what i`m looking
    for now, so any final advice from any of you guy`s, would be a great help. I am not using Ebay,
    as advised by PLODR, so any other place to purchase would be great. I did visit Lenovo, but their
    8gb memory sticks are well into the $130 + price range, so i cannot go there.
     
  13. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,247
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    (The first RAM on the Best Buy link, that you provided, is for desktop memory.)
    Make sure you select the laptop memory from the link that I posted.
     
  14. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,247
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Laptop DDR3 RAM sticks all have 204 pins and are the same size.
    Desktop DDR3 memory will not fit in a laptop.
     
  15. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Okay, so fina;;y, i found these two.
    Is either one of these okay for my laptop?
    If so, i will go ahead and purchase, and you guy`s can mark this thread as "solved".
    Thanks all.
     

    Attached Files:

    • a3.PNG
      a3.PNG
      File size:
      175.1 KB
      Views:
      9
  16. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,247
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Either will work.
     
  17. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Okay, i think i have got the right memory for my computer, i am just waiting
    for clarification from the Best Buy tech, that gave me his card. As soon as it`s
    determined that it is what i want/need, i shall go ahead and purchase it. It is
    from Amazon Prime. Pics attached.
    I would like to thank IJAC for his statement regarding the Celeron CPU.
    The tech guy wrote down on the reverse of his card, the details i should look for.
    I need a DDR3 12800 PC3 memory stick, and that`s what it seems to be.
    Many many thanks for all your help and advice.
     

    Attached Files:

    • a1.PNG
      a1.PNG
      File size:
      287.6 KB
      Views:
      9
    • a2.PNG
      a2.PNG
      File size:
      10.6 KB
      Views:
      10
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  18. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    This is a note to the Admin.
    I have no idea when i am going to hear from the techy guy from Best Buy,
    so if any of you can clarify that the above item in the pics above are what
    i require, then once that`s done, you can mark this as "solved".
    Many thanks.
     
  19. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,247
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Yes, you have the correct RAM. :iagree:
     
  20. solopirate

    solopirate Registered Members

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Thank you young Cindy E.
    You can mark this as solved now. I will see you in about two weeks.
    I`m sure i will have something else to ask :) :)
     

Share This Page