1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Microsoft Word Viewer

Discussion in 'General Software' started by BGBG, Aug 20, 2018.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    My brother sent me a word document that I could not open on the W7 laptop. But I tried on the XP laptop and it opened with MS Word Viewer. Is there an all free download of MS Word Viewer that I could download and install on the W7 laptop to open these files? I have nothing now that will open them. File is a Document.rtf (21 KB) in the AOL mail.
     
  2. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,777
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    MS Word Viewer is no longer supported, Bill.
    I would try Jarte
    It is compatible with your OS and will open the file for you to view.
     
    Seth Anthony likes this.
  3. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thank you, Cindy. I shall try it. Bill.
     
  4. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    This opened the document.rtf file. But there is also a bptrack01.xlsx that I can't open and I believe it is an Excel file. Anything I can download to open these files? Do not HAVE to but nice if I could have the capability.
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,650
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
  6. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I open doc, docx, xls, and xlsx with LibreOffice.
    Try the portable version - no install to see if you like it.
    https://www.libreoffice.org/download/portable-versions/
    either version 5.4.7 or 6.0.5 (I use both) Grab the Multilingual Standard; the All has more languages than you'll ever need and is a larger download.
     
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I tried the Apache and it did open the excel file. Don't do much of this stuff. Like to have the capability though.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  8. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,777
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    That's great, Bill.
    You never know when you are going to need it.
     
  9. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,083
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Another question about this .xlsx file. I know nothing about this and am no printer guru but I tried the Canon and the Bother printer and neither sees more than 1 of 6 pages or more than line 1-86 or columns A-F. But the opened document has lines 1-120 and columns A-V. Am I doing something wrong? I cannot get it to show whole document or more than one page....what is wrong here???
     
  10. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    256
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    You have to "corral" the print area.

    I don't do this - I get my husband to do this.

    I have a database of 603 people with lots of columns. It has to be printed on 11" x 14" paper. Is your printer capable of printing on larger size paper? (only one printer in our home can print on this size paper) If not, you need to print some columns than go back and print others.

    Even I don't have columns A - V with my huge database. I have something like columns A - K.
     

Share This Page