1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.
    Dismiss Notice

MALWAREBYTES

Discussion in 'General Malware And Security' started by BGBG, Dec 28, 2018.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,268
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I uninstalled all Malwarebytes and downloaded what it said was a new free version. I installed and it said Free Trial Premium 3.6.1.2711.
    What gives? Don't they have just a free version? I upgraded and got a trial free version and uninstalled it and now I seem to have the same back again. Just want a free version.
     
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    3,096
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Look under settings. I know there's a setting in there somewhere to change from trial to free.

    MBAM is a good product. What are you using for protection?
     
  3. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,970
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    You can revert to Malwarebytes Free by de-activating the free trial, Bill.
    See screenshot....


    mb.png
     
    Tony D likes this.
  4. allheart55 (Cindy E)

    allheart55 (Cindy E) Administrator Administrator

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,970
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    ASUS M4A77TD AM3 AMD 770 ATX AMD
    CPU:
    AMD Phenom II X6 1090T-Thuban 3.2GHz
    Memory:
    Crucial-DDR3 SDRAM 1333-8GB
    Hard Drive:
    WD Caviar Black SE HDD 640 GB - WD Caviar Black SE HDD 500 GB
    Graphics Card:
    Sapphire Radeon HD-7870 2GB
    Power Supply:
    CORSAIR CMPSU-750W
    Looks as if Tony and I posted at the same time. :biggrin:
     
  5. starbuck

    starbuck Administrator - Malware Removal Specialist Administrator

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2009
    Messages:
    3,486
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    CPU:
    AMD Athlon II x2 250 Processor 3.00GHz
    Memory:
    8gb DDR3
    Hard Drive:
    500gb SATA
    Graphics Card:
    ASUS GeForce GTX 960 2gb
    Power Supply:
    650w PowerCool X-Viper
    The trial version becomes the free version after the 14 day trial ends.
    But as has already been stated, you can end the trial earlier if you want.

    The reverse is also applicable.......
    if at any time you decided to pay for the premium features, just add the activation code to the free version and it'll become the Premium (paid for) version.
     
    Tony D likes this.
  6. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,268
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Thanks a lot. I saw this activate license thing but dd not know what it meant. I think I understand it better now. Had one awhile but do not think I ever used it. Was using Cybereason RansomFree before now.
     
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,268
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    QUESTION: In the example aove I cannot access the Dashboard, Settings, or My Account or any of these buttons. due to the large scan window blocking the screen and I cannot fnd a way to close it. Therefore I cannot get to My Account. Maybe the trial has to end first? Is there some way I can get rid of the scan window and access My Account and do as it shows above? Just did a quick try but I could not do what it shows.
     
  8. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,268
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Never mind. I finally got it to work. I tried some other shortcuts and found one that worked. Unsure why others did nothing. Anyway I have what I needed.
     

Share This Page