1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Looking to purchase modem and need advice

Discussion in 'Networking' started by joecaf61, Dec 30, 2018.

1. joecaf61

joecaf61

Operating System:
    Windows 10
    This is my first time here and not sure if this is the correct section of the forum. I presently have Comcast xfinity and they are increasing the modem rental to $13/month, so I was thinking of purchasing one. I am not that technically inclined and would appreciate any feedback.

The rented Comcast modem is Arris TG1682G voice and data dual band wifi capable XB3. I have just one desktop I use, am not using phone service. I did a speed test it is download 3.3 Mbps and upload 2.3 Mbps.
    I am not into gaming, just general use, watching videos, etc. I do have a few questions.

1. Since the rented equipment is a modem/router combo, can I just buy a combo unit or do I have to get two separate units?

2. Will I have any issues with Comcast and if something happens to the equipment, does that mean I will have to purchase again and be out more money?

3. I was thinking of going to Best Buy and wanted to know what would be my best options and if there is anything I would have to tell the clerk. I want to make sure I don't get one that is way more then I need.

Would appreciate any feedback.

Thanks

2. Tony D

Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Hi Joe and welcome,

My sister was in a similar situation. I referred to Comcast’s list of approved modem/routers. Try this link https://mydeviceinfo.xfinity.com/

Answers to your questions:
    1) You can buy whatever is on their list of approved equipment. A combo would be fine.