1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

Long Running Script

Discussion in 'Browser Issues' started by BGBG, Jan 2, 2018.

  1. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,507
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I'm not familiar with that application. I'd try another browser.
    - Which of your machines are experiencing this?
    - I'll assume you're not seeing it on all web sites, maybe just one or two. Is that correct?
     
  3. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I am having trouble posting so I copied to notepad and uploaded the post file. Hope it works.
     

    Attached Files:

    • Post.txt
      File size:
      847 bytes
      Views:
      7
  4. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,507
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    1) If clicking on that link sends you to France, you may have some malware on the computer. Reset your browser and see if that helps.
    2) There is some advertising on that weather page that may be causing you grief. Install an ad blocker. Here's a link to our recommended software.
    https://computerhelpforums.com/threads/chf-recommended-software.48136/
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) likes this.
  5. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    189
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    The bookmark is US, France. I clicked on it and it leads to a city in France.

    Your bookmark is incomplete.

    My bookmark has a state and city
    I can't post it because this forum software won't show the exact url, it keeps changing it to a hotlink. grrrrr
    Code:
    https://www.wunderground.com/weather/us/pa/particular city in pa
    You are missing/state/city in your address.

    What state are you located in? At least we can get you out of France.
     
  6. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I left the exact address off the posting for I felt self-protective. I am in Pennsylvania. The address IS on the URL box but sometimes I get France. I do not use this as much as before when seemed to work well. Now I get France, the wrong station (it changes automatically) , and long-running script warnings. As much as I appreciate PCs they do waste a lot of time fiddling around.
    I admit I did not know about the US, France thing. Who knows.....maybe there is a Pennsylvania or a Pa, France. It USED to have my city and state. I will study this a bit more to be sure. Thanks for the reply.
     
  7. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Seems to be OK now. URL has the us/state/city/weather station at the end. This station matches my outdoor Acurite thermometer reading.
     
  8. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    I decided to try ReImage repair tool to see what it does. Weather.com also has the long running script thing.
     
  9. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    ReImage Repair tool, scans for free, but requires payment to fix anything.
    Not something, I would consider using.
    Get your weather forecast, from another Site. There are many.
     
  10. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    YEAH....I found this out. Believe it is a scam to get your money. No mention of price until start to repair what it finds. I removed it and told them what I thought of it. Lots of stuff like this around.
     
  11. DSTM (Dougie)

    DSTM (Dougie) Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    8,176
    Location:
    SYDNEY AUSTRALIA
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
  12. BGBG

    BGBG Registered Members

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    1,022
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    YES...That one DOES look good. Used the other for a long time but now it seems to have changed. More unsatisfactory than satisfactory now.
     
  13. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    189
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    If you don't allow the radar, it loads faster BUT wunderground is still a very slow loading site.

    I use the National Weather Service site: http://www.weather.gov/
    on the left, put in your city and state then bookmark it.

    It takes about 3 seconds for the 7 day forecast to load for me and I have an old, cheap eMachine desktop computer.
     
    Tony D likes this.

Share This Page