1. Welcome Guest! In order to create a new topic or reply to an existing one, you must register first. It is easy and free. Click here to sign up now!.

[Solved] Loading Linux OS using a bootable program like Universal installer USB.

Discussion in 'General Software' started by John Stenger, May 29, 2018.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    I'm not sure if anyone can help with this question, but I am trying to make up something like the advertised Xtra PC product, which I read on a google post, is nothing more then a Free Linux OS on a flash drive! The post stated and I quote "Just buy a USB and install any free Linux OS, using a bootable program like Universal installer USB. If you want to protect yourself use TAILS OS."

    I have downloaded the direct Linux OS and the Universal installer USB programs onto a 64Gb Flash Drive, but I don't know what to do at this point! How would I get these programs to start up a non working windows 10 PC, from the USB port as that poster had stated? ..Thanks John
     
    Last edited: May 29, 2018
  2. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,678
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    I'm not certain, but I'm pretty sure you need to boot the computer using the USB Flash drive. When the machine starts, look for something on the screen that may say Boot device or Settings. If you see the Boot device option, use that and select the USB flash drive. If you don't see the boot device option, go to settings and set USB for the first boot device.

    If you can't get to these options, please post the make and model of your computer.

    btw: Linux Mint is very similar to Windows. I'd give that a try https://linuxmint.com/download.php
     
  3. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    This will also depend on why the Windows 10 system is not working.
     
  4. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Thanks for your replies! ..Yes Rustys that computer an HP SFF suddenly would not start windows, it made several attempts to auto repair itself but to no avail! I was hoping I could revive it with this new LINUX OS. ..Also as an alternative, ..suppose I changed the hard drive to one of several older ones I have laying around from other machines, but I don't suppose it would recognize the new machine and run it's loaded OS normally anyhow?
     
  5. Tony D

    Tony D Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,678
    Location:
    SE Pennsylvania, USA
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    When you start your computer, what do you see on the display? Do you see the HP logo?
    Do you see text telling you to press certain buttons for things like Settings, Boot Device?
    Any signs of Windows trying to load?
     
  6. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    584
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Ya, the hard drive could be failing, and I wouldn't install any Windows operating system other than W7 or W10.

    If you want to install a Linux distro, then I recommend "Deepin". You can make it bootable to a USB by using a program called Rufus.

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/deepin/

    https://rufus.akeo.ie/

    If you want to install Window's 10, then use the media creation tool. It will create a bootable USB stick:

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-ca/software-download/windows10

    For the W10 creation tool, when asked if you want to create the media for this computer or another, choose another.
     
    allheart55 (Cindy E) and Rustys like this.
  7. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    That is correct since windows forms its self around the hardware that is in the system that it is installed upon.

    Does the system with Ten on it have a DVD and the system that will be used to create the USB have a DVD drive? If so we can use the DVD and not the USB.
     
  8. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    584
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
    Also, for the HP, keep pressing f9 at startup for the boot menu. If that doesn't work, then use the ESC key, then f9 for the boot menu.
     
  9. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    HP Logo appears on startup, then Windows 10 logo appears it thinks awhile, then it displays PC needs to restart, it then proceeds Into Automatic Repair, and finally says, Automatic Repair has failed! ...with options to Shutdown /Advanced Options.
     
  10. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Rustys " Does the system with Ten on it have a DVD and the system that will be used to create the USB have a DVD drive? If so we can use the DVD and not the USB."

    You say I should burn the LINUX and that installer files to a CD? ...Yes I could do that! ..or only DVD?
     
  11. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Correct you will need to use a DVD to burn Linux to or Windows 10 to.
    Windows 10 will require a Dual Layer DVD disk.

    You should try Seth information it Post # 6 first.
     
  12. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    OK I will check those links! ...a lot more to this then I thought! ..but then again there always is!
     
  13. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home

    Seth, I have downloaded the Deepin, rufus and the Linuxmint 18.3 64 bit OS files to a large Flash Drive. Is there any written instructions online, that I can follow to use these tools? as I have no idea how to use them! ..also my computer only starts tries to load windows and then tries to repair itself, so will these programs work in that situation? ..Thanks John
     
  14. plodr

    plodr CHF Advisor CHF Advisers

    Joined:
    May 31, 2017
    Messages:
    272
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    A linux distro on a DVD or USB stick will load into RAM. It will work provided the RAM is good and you have a working monitor.

    Do you have access to a working computer that you can create either a bootable CD/DVD or a USB stick. Just putting the files on a USB stick doesn't make the stick bootable.
     
    Rustys likes this.
  15. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
     
    Last edited: May 31, 2018
  16. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    Does the Ten system have a DVD reader?
    Does the system that you are making the disk from have a DVD writer?
    Have a Blank DVD disk?
     
  17. Seth Anthony

    Seth Anthony Registered Members

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2017
    Messages:
    584
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Altaire 8800
    CPU:
    Modified Texas Instruments calculator
    Memory:
    2 transistor tubes
    Hard Drive:
    pen and paper
    Graphics Card:
    TV ready
    Power Supply:
    Mouse on a wheel
  18. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    The working machine does have a DVD writer. I will get the DVD's, ..do I need some special type "Dual Layer DVD disk"
     
  19. John Stenger

    John Stenger Registered Members

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2013
    Messages:
    192
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Home
    Yes I watched the Video ...but to clarify, ..I do these Rufus settings in the working machine first, and then load to the damaged one? or all in the damaged machine?
     
  20. Rustys

    Rustys Super-Moderator Super Moderators

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    1,239
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Operating System:
    Linux Based
    Computer Brand or Motherboard:
    Compaq H3900 (Windows 2002)
    CPU:
    Intel (R) PXA250
    Memory:
    64 MB RAM 48 MB ROM
    The non working system. If that system does not have one than we will need to utilize the USB and will need Rufus.
    If the non working system had a DVD and you want to install windows Ten they yes get the dual layer if you are wanting to use Linux then the regular DVDs will work.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page